Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Traveling to Oregon from Washington in July

  1. #1
    Regular Member GreatWhiteLlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bothell, Washington, USA
    Posts
    287

    Post imported post

    I have agreed to take the g/f to Oregon for about a week during the July 4th holiday. I know my Washington CPL is not honored there and that I would have to have an Oregon CHL to carry in most situations.

    In Washington, my CPL allows me to carry a loaded pistol in a car or on my bike in addition to CC. I usually OC but for this trip I would rather CC.

    I have two questions.

    1, Will I have time to obtain an Oregon CHL before my trip?

    2, Are there any caveats to carrying in Oregon (Both OC and CC)?

    I know the second question is rather broad but I'm hoping to get a quick breakdown on any relevant laws because I won't have time to look them all up before my trip.
    "...our media are palace eunuchs gazing avidly at the harem of power and stroking their impotent pens in time to the rape of our liberties."
    -Sarah Hoyt

    "America is at that awkward stage; it's too late to work within the system, but too early to shoot the bastards."
    -Claire Wolfe

  2. #2
    Regular Member GreatWhiteLlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bothell, Washington, USA
    Posts
    287

    Post imported post

    OK, never mind. I just found 166.291, http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/ID/chl.shtml
    & http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/166.html

    They have 45 days to issue AND I have to complete some kind of handgun safety class.

    I hope the one week I don't carry doesn't contain the one day I needed to...
    "...our media are palace eunuchs gazing avidly at the harem of power and stroking their impotent pens in time to the rape of our liberties."
    -Sarah Hoyt

    "America is at that awkward stage; it's too late to work within the system, but too early to shoot the bastards."
    -Claire Wolfe

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    1,026

    Post imported post

    T-RaV wrote:
    OK, never mind. I just found 166.291, http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/ID/chl.shtml
    & http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/166.html

    They have 45 days to issue AND I have to complete some kind of handgun safety class.

    I hope the one week I don't carry doesn't contain the one day I needed to...
    You can still OC, even loaded in the car, so long as you unload in the localities that have prohibited loaded OC. There's a list stickied at the top of the OR forum.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •