Thread: Open Carry in Colorado - Jefferson County D.A speaks out

Post imported post

During a prosecution case - I had the opportunity to sit down with a prosecutor for the Jefferson County District Attorney's Office and ask him about O/C in Colorado per Colorado statues.
    The Prosecutor I spoke with advised me O/C in Colorado is A-Ok! He went on to caution against it unless you expect to have the police called. I am a Fugitive Recovery Agent therefore the only time I plan on O/C is if I have my badge and I.D on me to avoid police activity.
    I was pulled over today and was O/C in Aurora, CO – the police had no problem with it whatsoever.
    Also be cautious of School’s and Government buildings. I would suggest no O/C if you are planning on going just to the store or for a walk… Spend the $$ on a CCW permit – it’s worth it.

Post imported post

Welcome to the forum.

Thanks for the report, good to hear. It's also legal here for any legal gun owner to have a loaded handgun in his vehicle, in contrast to some other states that allow OC only for pedestrians and not drivers.

Post imported post

bailenforcement wrote:
    During a prosecution case - I had the opportunity to sit down with a prosecutor for the Jefferson County District Attorney's Office and ask him about O/C in Colorado per Colorado statues.
    The Prosecutor I spoke with advised me O/C in Colorado is A-Ok! He went on to caution against it unless you expect to have the police called. I am a Fugitive Recovery Agent therefore the only time I plan on O/C is if I have my badge and I.D on me to avoid police activity.
    I was pulled over today and was O/C in Aurora, CO – the police had no problem with it whatsoever.
    Also be cautious of School’s and Government buildings. I would suggest no O/C if you are planning on going just to the store or for a walk… Spend the $$ on a CCW permit – it’s worth it.