• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

shoulder holsters

uncledrew23

imported post

hi im new to this and was wonding if a shoulder holster can be used for OC if u only have a short sleeved shirt on and have it above ur clothes or what holsters are a semi acceptable type im a leather holster person and im thinking along those lines

AaronS

imported post

I would love to say yes, but I would not try it just yet. Thats just me though, and I am sure we will be seeing some with a shoulder rig soon...

J.Gleason

Banned
imported post

Some would argue that if you have a brand name shoulder holster the straps that go around your shoulders are very visible and in turn do bring attention to the holster and fire arm therefore, making the fire arm more visible as well.
One could argue that while carrying a holster on your hip your arm could potentially cover the fire arm therefore concealing it in the same manner that a shoulder holster would conceal it.
My advice to you is to try it out and see if you are comfortable with it just do not cover it up with a coat or jacket.
Not walking around with your hands in the air does not constitute concealing the fire arm.
There is no specific rule that the fire arm has to be carried on your hip.
I have personally carried with both types of holsters.

Woodchuck

imported post