Thread: MI resident visiting GA

Regular Member Springfield Smitty's Avatar
    OKC, OK (Heading back to MI very soon - thank goodness)

Post imported post

What type of permits or licenses would I need if I want to OC in Georgia during my visit? I am a Michigan resident and OC is legal with no licensing or permit.

From what I understand of GA law, there is not aCPL or OC permit, just a permit to carrry, period. That means you can OC or CC, but need to have the permit first. Does that mean that I need a permit to conceal (CPL) from MI in order to OC in GA?

I also understand that one can transport a pistol in a vehicle as long as it is in open view and no permit is needed. Does that mean it can be loaded? What exactly is considered "in open view"?
    -U.S. Army Veteran (2002-2005) 11BVB4 (Infantry, Airborne, Ranger, some other stuff) SGT (E-5)
    -Public Service Professional - I've done it all: LEO, FF, and EMT
    -Certified NRA Instructor
    -CPL / CCW (whatever other acronym you can think of for carrying a concealed pistol) Instructor
    -Co-founder of OKOCA

I am not an attorney. None of my statements should be accepted, nor are they intended to be offered, as legal advice or fact of law.

ar15 sbr glock 19 beretta m9
    Proud Lifetime georgia carry member
    nam vet

Post imported post

So, I assume I need a MI CPL to OC in GA...
    -U.S. Army Veteran (2002-2005) 11BVB4 (Infantry, Airborne, Ranger, some other stuff) SGT (E-5)
    -CPL / CCW (whatever other acronym you can think of for carrying a concealed pistol) Instructor
    -Co-founder of OKOCA

I am not an attorney. None of my statements should be accepted, nor are they intended to be offered, as legal advice or fact of law.

Post imported post

you need a permit from a state GA honors. do you have a MI permit??

i recommend you check out www.georgiapacking.org for georgias gun laws in plain english

Post imported post

You need a permit from one of the States listed here: