Thread: Hi from Kelso, new member looking to OC

Post imported post

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on the boards, been a lurker for a while but decided to go ahead and join the forums. Ive been looking into not only getting a CPL but also OCing too. Also, since I dont have a pistol just yet, I am looking for suggestions into what sort of Pistol I should get at a pretty good price, and also where around the Kelso Longview area I can train into becoming a skilled shooter?

Post imported post

For all the bad rap a Hi-point gets, I recommend it as a starter pistol. I got mine $120 new at the gun shop, and at the range it had the same ratio of jams as the guys with the Glock and Ruger LCP I was there with. (1 in 70)

(Edit - f*cking typos)

Post imported post

Welcome to the forum!

Yeah i agree with cynicist hi point is a good starter gun. I personally had a hi point .40 to start with and it shot great.

Post imported post

Also consider used pistols. You can get a used S&W 5906 for about $350 or a Ruger P-series for around the same or less.

Post imported post

Welcome It is a great forum.

- What kind of price range ? Pistol or revolver preference ? Used ok ?

~ ENCLAVE vmc ~
    The Enclave is looking for patriotic motorcycle riders in Washington State who support liberty and freedom for all. ~ Check us out!
    ~
    * " To be swayed neither by the opponent nor by his sword is the essence of swordsmanship." - Miyamoto Musashi.

Post imported post

cynicist wrote:
    For all the bad rap a Hi-point gets, I recommend it as a starter pistol.* I got mine $120 new at the gun shop, and at the range it had the same ratio of jams as the guys with the Glock and Ruger LCP I was there with.* (1 in 70)

(Edit - f*cking typos)
    :shock:

I put 8-10K rounds through my Glock 17. I had ONE FTF, and that was my own fault because the mag wasn't seated properly.. A quick TRB fixed that.... That was the ONLY malfunction I EVER had.