Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Costco

Post imported post

I was in Costco at the Portland, Or., branch on 138th.

I was trying to decide which camera I was going to buy. I was having trouble rationalizing spending $800 or $900 on a camera when I do not take photos for a living or that many photos, for that matter. I have the money but I am trying to buy what I need and not what I want.

So, I walked around the store, went to the food bar and got a couple of hot-dogs sat down and ate them. Went back to the camera section. A young person--12 or so--came and told me that they were going to tow my Harley because of where I had it parked. So, I went and moved my bike and went back inside to the Camera department again.

I had been there probably about 2 hours or so. While I was making up the purchase slip for the camera I chose, the assistant manager came up to me and told me I could not have my gun in the store. He said he would be more than happy to show me the policy in writing and that the "no weapons" policy was included in my membership material.

He was nice and we discused, "Where is you sign" issue. He said he liked guns himself but it was policy. We talked about my rebate that I had received because I purchase so much at Costco. I also informed him of the open carry movement in the country and a lot of people would cancel their memebership if they could not carry their weapons. He understood and sugested that I email the corporate people becasue I am a member of the private club as well. Then the security guy came walking and asked him if he was alright---amazing :?

So, I went back to my bike and pulled my shirt over my gun and went back in and purchased my camera and I left.

I went online to look at membership policies that one gets when he joins Costco. There is nothing about not carrying weapons or bringing weapons into the store. Costco.com