Thread: Can a Montana resident carry concealed with another state's permit until a Montana CCW is obtained?

Post imported post

I haven't been here 6 months yet to apply for my Montana CCW. I have an Arizona CCW and Montana recognizes it. But being that I'm a resident of Montana, am I still allowed to carry with my AZ permit? I couldn't find anything about this on the net or in Marbut's book.

Post imported post

Montana recognizes that a non-resident of Arizona can CCW in Montana with an Arizona permit (at least the way I read it). To me that says it doesn't matter where you reside. Very good question indeed, and one that I do not believe I have seen asked before.

-MCZ

Post imported post

You are good to go... MT recognizes your AZ permit as the same as a MT permit until your are a legal resident of the state, until your are a legal resident (6 months) it is the same as if you are just visiting here.

-Longbow

Post imported post

What about after you are a legal resident?

-MCZ

Post imported post

Thanks all. I only brought it up because I have seen where a few states have laws saying that only "out of state" residents may carry in the state with out of state permits. I'm glad that MT doesn't have this sorta law.

Post imported post

CZ, When you become a resident you will need to have a MT CWP, Laramie
    Will need to apply right a way and there may be some lag time when he cant CC.

But he can still OC, the lag time should not be more then 60 days.

-Longbow

Post imported post

Thanks for the info. Much appreciated.

Post imported post

Longbow wrote:

-Longbow
    I have been unable to locate in the code where it states that if you are a resident of Montana that you are required to have a MT CCW permit. I can find it for other states that do (Michigan for instance). Can you please tell me where I can find this relevant section of code?

-CZ

Post imported post

Longbow wrote: