Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: OC in East Hartford

Post imported post

I sent the following to the Chief of Police in East Hartford today. Lets see what he says.

Chief Sirois,

My Name is Francis (Fran) Miele

I am an East Hartford resident and have been for more than 35 years. I was also very good friends with Detective Dick Tracy when he lived in town but unfortunately I have lost track of him.

I hold a Connecticut permit to carry pistols and revolvers.

I am interested in what you believe this permit affords a citizen in East Hartford. You see, no where in the state statutes or regulations does it state that I must carry my weapon concealed. In fact the permit is NOT for concealed carry.

This seems to be a big question in the state by many these days and many licensed owners are open carrying in other parts of the state without incident..

Many of us, me included, would like to open carry our weapon and it seems by law that we can. However, I also know that many police officers think that it is unlawful to do so and would arrest an individual for doing so.

My question to you is; what would you or one of your officers do if they saw me with my pistol or revolver exposed?

Obviously I don’t want to be arrested! So it is important to me that I know and more importantly that I know that your department knows that by law open carry is legal.

I have enclosed two links that support the fact that open carry is legal.

http://www.ct.gov/bfpe/cwp/view.asp?...18126&PM=1

Last paragraph of this memo from the commissioner of DPS

http://www.ourrockyhill.com/To%20Jud...0Ambiguity.pdf

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you for your time!]

Post imported post

fatcat46 wrote:
    I was also very good friends with Detective Dick Tracy
    Was there really a detective named Dick Tracy in real life?