eastmeyers wrote:How does this work? Anything different about OC'ing while hunting, like how many rounds you may have?
Thanks for the help ya'll!
If you are hunting with the handgun you need to follow the hunting rules. If carrying for self-defense then you are allowed to carry under CPL act.
NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION ACT (EXCERPT)
Act 451 of 1994
324.504 Department of natural resources; rules for protection of lands and property; certain rules prohibited; orders; violation as civil infraction; fine.
Sec. 504.(1) The department shall promulgate rules for the protection of the lands and property under its control against wrongful use or occupancy as will ensure the carrying out of the intent of this part to protect the lands and property from depredations and to preserve the lands and property from molestation, spoilation, destruction, or any other improper use or occupancy.
(2) This section does not allow the department to promulgate a rule that applies to commercial fishing except as otherwise provided by law.
(3) The department shall not promulgate or enforce a rule that prohibits an individual who is licensed or exempt from licensure under 1927 PA 372, MCL 28.421 to 28.435, from carrying a pistol in compliance with that act, whether concealed or otherwise, on property under the control of the department.
(4) The department shall issue orders necessary to implement rules promulgated under this section. These orders shall be effective upon posting.
(5) A person who violates a rule promulgated under this section or an order issued under this section is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $500.00.
History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995 ;-- Am. 1996, Act 171, Imd. Eff. Apr. 18, 1996 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 130, Imd. Eff. June 3, 2004
Popular Name: Act 451
Popular Name: NREPA
Admin Rule: R 299.291a et seq. and R 299.921 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code.
The rules listed below may not apply to a person having a concealed pistol license (CPL) or a person specifically exempt by law from a CPL and carrying their handgun in accordance with their license or exemption.
- A person must be at least 18 years of age to hunt with (possess) a handgun.
- Handguns cannot be borrowed or loaned to another person other than provided for under the CPL.
- While in the field, handguns must be carried in plain view. Carrying a handgun in a holster in plain view is permitted.
- You may transport your registered handguns while en route to and from your hunting or target shooting area; however, handguns, including BB guns larger than .177 caliber and all pellet guns must be unloaded and in a closed case designed for the storage of firearms and cannot be readily accessible to any occupant of the vehicle.
- It is a crime for certain felons to possess firearms, including rifles and shotguns, in Michigan.
- Nonresidents must have a CPL issued by their home state in their possession in order to legally carry or transport a handgun in Michigan.
For more information regarding statewide handgun regulations, obtaining a concealed pistol license or Michigan concealed weapons and firearms laws, contact your local police department