Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Help with Utah gun law

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
    Posts
    4

    Post imported post

    Using the Plea in Abeyance tool in my case, I have completed all required stipulations and probations and the case has been dismissed. Can I expect to get my firearms back from the city or have I still been dealt a punishment of never owning a firearm again?

  2. #2
    Founder's Club Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA
    Posts
    545

    Post imported post

    DRZRIDER wrote:
    Using the Plea in Abeyance tool in my case, I have completed all required stipulations and probations and the case has been dismissed. Can I expect to get my firearms back from the city or have I still been dealt a punishment of never owning a firearm again?
    What were you charged with?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
    Posts
    4

    Post imported post

    Sorry it is in the topic heading, domestic violance. Please don't judge, it's not hard to get this charge.

  4. #4
    Founder's Club Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA
    Posts
    545

    Post imported post

    DRZRIDER wrote:
    Sorry it is in the topic heading, domestic violance. Please don't judge, it's not hard to get this charge.
    No judgment, how long ago was the charge? Really the best way to find out if you can get your guns back is to have your lawyer ask for them back. Or go ask for them yourself if you don't have a lawyer.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
    Posts
    4

    Post imported post

    It all started 17 months ago, but I just received notice of dismissal this week. Didn't use a lawyer and was searching the net to try and find answers when I came across this site. From all I can figure I'm sunk

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    73

    Post imported post

    a charge is not a conviction. you should get them but it may take a while.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, USA
    Posts
    4

    Post imported post

    Hey all. I'm a new member to the site. Been CWP holder for about 3.5 years. DRZRIDER, You can get your Firearms back. You need to just contact the Department that has your firearms and they will conduct a background to make sure you are eligible and they will release them.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
    Posts
    4

    Post imported post

    Merry Christmas to me! By playing by all the rules, I was rewarded with all my firearms being returned to me. I've never had a freedom taken from me till this incident. I have never felt so unprotected in all my life. I will never take it for granted again!

    But now i'm wondering if this will keep me from getting a concealed carry permit. Anyone know what the law says about that?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, USA
    Posts
    4

    Post imported post

    With everything dimissedYou can now apply for an expungment through BCI. If your case wasdismissed you won't have to pay for your expungements which are around $150.00 per charge normally. Its 10.00 to apply from BCI. If Multiple cases or charges get as many expunged as you can and you will most likely be able to get a concealed permit. Once youapply it takes from 8-12 wks for them to do their investigation to see if you qualify but its only time. As far as i know only conviction can keep you from owning or carrying afirearm.This is based on process to get a permit reinstated from dismissed charges. Could be different but give it a shot.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    , Utah, USA
    Posts
    100

    Post imported post

    If you are applying for a CFP and you have a dismissal you must wait at least 30 days to apply for a CFP. I do not have the code in front of me to quote it, look it up to get the details.

  11. #11
    Regular Member redreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bristow, VA, USA
    Posts
    58

    Post imported post

    On the bottom right of this BCI web page, under "Quick Links" is a link thatgives you instructions on how to expunge records in Utah, as well as many other firearms related questions.

    http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/index.html

    Feel free to call them. I have never talked to anyone at BCI that wasn't a pretty nice person.

    Good luck!




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •