• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Original Open Carry Statutes & Open Carry in 'Vehicle.'

imported post

Let's do some research and make sure we fully understand what the term 'vehicle' means in the original statutes and implementing regulations for open carry of a firearm.

I'm not a lawyer but I've studied law since 1989 and have litigated in my own person in the federal courts. That said, I have an idea and question about the inconsistency between the Right of Open Carry in Alabama, on foot or bicycle, and the apparent prohibition against carrying openly in a 'vehicle.'

The key word is 'vehicle.' I don't have the original statute for Alabama but one of you guys or gals with the time can easily find out how the term 'vehicle' is defined in the original statute and implementing regulations for open carry of a firearm. One would necessarily go back to the date of such original legislation to determine the original intent and definitions of that time. It would also be helpful to read the debates that took place during the passage of this statute to determine what the Legislature understood who and what their subsequent statute and regulations affected.