Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: OR and UT Concealed Classes in Jan/Feb/Mar

  1. #1
    Campaign Veteran gogodawgs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Federal Way, Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,667

    Post imported post

    Thought I would pass along informationfor the UT class as well as the OR class being held at the Lacey Cabela's.

    I will be taking the Jan 24th Oregon class. I am originally from Vancouver and have an friends in the Portland area, as well as my parents have their second home in Sister's OR near Bend. So it will be nice to be legal down that way, since their state's pre-emption is not so good.

    Jan 24th, Feb 28th, Mar 28th

    Oregon Concealed Handgun License Course
    NRA Certified Law Enforcement Firearms Instructor Mr. Jason DuVal will cover all necessary and relevant information to satisfy the State of Oregon's training requirements to obtain an Oregon Concealed Handgun License (OCHL). Students do not bring firearms to class. At the end of the course, students will be presented a certificate of completion to apply for the OCHL. Class size LIMITED. $35.00 registration. Pre-payment required to reserve seating. Payment / registration at class dependant upon seating availability. Mail to: Liberty Training Group, 3760 Market St. NE, Suite 262, Salem, OR 97301. Questions: Call 503-385-1137.
    Sunday, 4:00-7:00 p.m.
    Location: Chinook Classroom next to Cascades Grill Restaurant.


    or

    Jan 26th, Feb 16th, Mar 16th

    Utah Concealed Firearm Permit for Non-Residents
    Good in 30 states! Obtain your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit in this three hour class presented by Concealed Firearms Certified Instructor, Mr. Kevin Faherty, LPI. Class includes ALL requirements for the Utah CFP Application in order to receive your concealed handgun permit´┐Ż class instruction, fingerprinting, notary, passport photo and one pre-printed non-stamped envelope to BCI, State of Utah. Reserve your seat now. $70 Prepay through Paypal on-line at http://www.CFPUTAH.com or $90 at the door. An additional $65.25 payable to BCI, State of Utah, is submitted / mailed with the completed class documentation to process application and receive Utah CFP.
    Tuesday, 5:30-8:30 p.m.
    Location: Chinook Classroom next to Cascades Grill Restaurant.


    http://www.cabelas.com/lacey-washing...eyWA-_-LaceyWA

    Live Free or Die!

    Live Free or Die!

  2. #2
    State Researcher Bill Starks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nortonville, KY, USA
    Posts
    4,291

    Post imported post

    I signed up for the Utah on the 26th, is anyone else attending?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sedro-Woolley, WA, ,
    Posts
    20

    Post imported post

    I just signed up for the 26th as well.

    Eugene

  4. #4
    State Researcher Bill Starks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nortonville, KY, USA
    Posts
    4,291

    Post imported post

    Was not impressed with the instructor. He is a definite CC guy.

    He actually told the classs that if you were in Safeway and reached up high on a shelf and your weapon showed you could be cited for "Brandishing" here in Washington.

    His TSA info is very lacking.

    The class was 20 mins of paperwork, 5 mins of finger printing and 1 hr 35 mins of things that you could have read. Lots of basic weapon common sense stuff, handling, loading, unloading, shooting stance.

    However 30 state carry makes up for the time lost.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Seattle, ,
    Posts
    5

    Post imported post

    Yes, I agree. He also indicated that OCing in downtown Seattle was unlawful.

    Can someone point out the RCW that makes it unlawful for a WA resident to CC with a Utah CFP if they do not have a WA CPL?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    2

    Post imported post

    The best I can find on short notice is this from the AG's concealed carry site (http://www.atg.wa.gov/page.aspx?id=2334)

    "...If the above conditions are met, the concealed weapons permit of an out-of-state resident will be recognized in Washington as long as the permit holder does not become a resident of Washington State. "

    Rick Walker

    Utah Concealed Carry Instructor

    The Marksman

    Champion Arms

    Cascade Rifle and Pistol Club

    Capitol City Rifle and Pistol Club

    And my four hour class is all class. No one has gone away saying they didn't learn anything. Use of force, de-escalation, legal issues all are covered in detail.

    www.blackdawgpartners.com



  7. #7
    Regular Member amzbrady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Marysville, Washington, USA
    Posts
    3,522

    Post imported post

    olywarick wrote:
    The best I can find on short notice is this from the AG's concealed carry site (http://www.atg.wa.gov/page.aspx?id=2334)

    I emailed the ATG letting him know we have a link for Concealed Carry and asking for the link for information on Open Carry.
    If you voted for Obama to prove you are not a racist...
    what will you do now to prove you are not stupid?

    "The American people will never knowingly adopt socialism. But, under the name of "liberalism," they will adopt every fragment of the socialist program, until one day America will be a socialist nation, without knowing how it happened." - Norman Thomas

    "They who can who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve niether liberty nor safety." - Ben Franklin

  8. #8
    Campaign Veteran Right Wing Wacko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Marysville, Washington, USA
    Posts
    645

    Post imported post

    I don't fault the guy to much for his lack of knowledge of WA law since he's an Oregon Resident and teaching a UTAH class, not a Washington Class. It's often difficult to keep things like that straight when you have so many states in your head. Since that wasn't what I was there for I just ignored the errors.

    After the UTAH class he allowed anyone that wanted to to stay for an additional 10 minutes (and $20) for an Oregon Certificate.

    Two birds with one stone, now to find a county sheriff in OR that issues to non-residents. He suggested Grant County (Bend).

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
    Posts
    22

    Post imported post

    I'm getting mine in Columbia County - Saint Helens.

    Of course I went to school with the County Sheriff and he goes hunting with the family that lived next door to me while growing up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •