Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: newbies got some questions

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California, USA
    Posts
    1

    Post imported post

    Im a resident of San Luis Obispo and just recently learned about UOC and have a few questions if you guys wouldn't mind answering a few.

    I know to buy/own a handgun in CA you have to be 21 or older and i read the you have to be 18 or older to UOC. So myself being 18 could I OC a handgun registered and owned by my father? or do i have to wait till i turn 21 to buy my own hand gun and OC it?

    Does anybody know the rules with state universities and OCing on campus(currently attending Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo)? or is it up to each individual university to decide? i know about not being allowed to carry in school zones but did not know if this applied to university campuses as well.

    anyone else from San Luis Obispo out there that OCs or has attempted to OC. Is it just going to be a huge pain since the cops here have nothing better to do.

  2. #2
    Regular Member wewd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    664

    Post imported post

    You may carry your father's handgun as long as you also possess a Handgun Safety Card which you can get at any gun shop for $25 (good for 5 years). Your father can also transfer the handgun to you at age 18 via the CA DOJ Intrafamiliar Transfer form which is sent to the state and costs $19. That is the only way someone 18-20 may own a handgun in CA (unless they brought it from another state when they moved here).

    You can not UOC on a college or university campus, but you could UOC on the sidewalk across the street since the 1,000 foot zone only applies to K-12 schools. You can conceal carry on campus with a CA CCW permit, but you may face academic sanctions if you do so. Most/all schools in CA forbid this. The law exempts CCW holders from PC 626.9 but there is no affirmative right to carry on campus.

    Edit: Yes I did.
    Do you want to enjoy liberty in your lifetime?

    Consider moving to New Hampshire as part of the Free State Project.

    "Live Free or Die"

  3. #3
    Anti-Saldana Freedom Fighter bigtoe416's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,748

    Post imported post

    A member by the name of Army lives in SLO and he carries pretty regularly. I can't recall a time the cops bothered him more than the 12031(e) check. He's a great guy.

    ETA: Wewd meant to say PC 626.9

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    76

    Post imported post

    My sheriff told me that with a CCW you can't carry on universities or state college campuses. I know that 626.9 has an exemption but in the exception code.. I haven't found the actual line where it says concealed weapon holders are exempt.. just people licensed to carry a firearm. So does that mean guard card/firearms card holders can also?

  5. #5
    Regular Member wewd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    664

    Post imported post

    crash5150 wrote:
    My sheriff told me that with a CCW you can't carry on universities or state college campuses. I know that 626.9 has an exemption but in the exception code.. I haven't found the actual line where it says concealed weapon holders are exempt.. just people licensed to carry a firearm. So does that mean guard card/firearms card holders can also?
    Your Sheriff was incorrect. 626.9 explicitly states that 12050 CCW permit holders are exempt from the law. Please see section (l):

    (l) This section does not apply to a duly appointed peace officer
    as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of
    Part 2, a full-time paid peace officer of another state or the
    federal government who is carrying out official duties while in
    California, any person summoned by any of these officers to assist in
    making arrests or preserving the peace while he or she is actually
    engaged in assisting the officer, a member of the military forces of
    this state or of the United States who is engaged in the performance
    of his or her duties, a person holding a valid license to carry the
    firearm pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 12050) of
    Chapter 1 of Title 2 of Part 4
    , or an armored vehicle guard, engaged
    in the performance of his or her duties, as defined in subdivision
    (e) of Section 7521 of the Business and Professions Code.
    However this section does not prevent a Sheriff from printing exceptions to where the permit holder may or may not carry on the permit itself. If your CCW permit says you can't carry at a school, then you cannot carry there. But note that it must be printed on the card itself, not on another sheet or even a verbal warning.

    The federal GFSZ law also exempts permit holders, but that law is unenforceable anyway.

    As for your question about security guards:

    (m) This section does not apply to a security guard authorized to
    carry a loaded firearm pursuant to Section 12031.
    If you are a guard card w/ exposed firearm permit holder then you also know that those permits do not entitle you to carry your firearm anywhere you please. Some schools hire private armed security and they are exempt from the law while at their place of duty. If you're not a guard hired to work at a particular school, you can't carry there.
    Do you want to enjoy liberty in your lifetime?

    Consider moving to New Hampshire as part of the Free State Project.

    "Live Free or Die"

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,140

    Post imported post

    You may carry your father's handgun as long as you also possess a Handgun Safety Card which you can get at any gun shop for $25 (good for 5 years). Your father can also transfer the handgun to you at age 18 via the CA DOJ Intrafamiliar Transfer form which is sent to the state and costs $19. That is the only way someone 18-20 may own a handgun in CA (unless they brought it from another state when they moved here). You can not UOC on a college or university campus, but you could UOC on the sidewalk across the street since the 1,000 foot zone only applies to K-12 schools. You can conceal carry on campus with a CA CCW permit, but you may face academic sanctions if you do so. Most/all schools in CA forbid this. The law exempts CCW holders from PC 626.9 but there is no affirmative right to carry on campus. Edit: Yes I did. Last edited on Tue Feb 23rd, 2010 07:47 pm by wewd
    Keep in mind that the sidewalks immediately adjacent to the school may be owned by the school (I've thought about it, trust me...).

    Also, just a small correction- You are legally allowed to carry onto a college campus if you have a CCW permit and that permit does not have a restriction stating that you cannot carry on campus. Should you not have the permission to carry from the Chief of Police for that particular campus, then you may face academic sanctions.



    crash5150 wrote:
    My sheriff told me that with a CCW you can't carry on universities or state college campuses. I know that 626.9 has an exemption but in the exception code.. I haven't found the actual line where it says concealed weapon holders are exempt.. just people licensed to carry a firearm. So does that mean guard card/firearms card holders can also?
    Your sheriff is a willfully misinformed statist, as most sheriffs seem to be.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •