Thread: How to obtain a CPL in California?

Post imported post

I am currently a resident here in michigan, And I might be moving out to Cali soon with my Brother.

How does someone go about obtaning a CPL?

How much does obtaining a CPL cost?

How long do you have to wait to recieve a CPL?

Post imported post

I would write a good, thoughtful reply, but my hands are tired from writing an essay and a research abstract.

Where are you moving to in California, and what kind of good cause do you feel you have?

Post imported post

I am unsure of where about in California Imight be moving to, I wish I could remember where my brother said. It is somewhere North I do know that.

I would just tell the Officer, I am carrying the Gun for Personal Protection.

Post imported post

FUD

Post imported post

I don't understand why people always respond to queries about California with black-and-white FUD which makes a confusing situation even worse, and tends to do the work of gun-grabbers for them.

The truth is that it's nowhere no so simple as just "no dice".

Nor is it that bad for all Californians, nor is it appropriate to tell people that they'll never get a permit no matter what.

Now, with that said, you only have two real options:

1. Move to a rural county which has adopted shall-issuance. Many rural counties have, though not all. If you move to one of these, it shouldn't be a big deal.

2. Wait. There is litigation underway.

Post imported post

heliopolissolutions wrote:
    Then no, no you may not have a CPL.

Welcome to CA.
    FUD for more than half the state by area. Stop.

Founder's Club Member MudCamper's Avatar

Post imported post

Depending where you are, you can't get one. Most people can not. Although it would appear from this map that much of the state does issue, in fact, where most of the population is it is non-issue.

See the following sites for CCW info:

http://www.californiaccw.org/forums/list.page
    http://www.calccw.com/Forums/