I think that you will find the process to obtain a Georgia Firearms License (GFL) quite a bit less difficult than a CA CHP. There is not a training requirement to apply for the license, and concealed carry is not stipulated in our legal code. Because Georgia is a shall issue state, the issuing authority must issue the license within 60 days barring a disqualifying offense on your criminal record. In practice, some times the process takes longer than 60 days, depending on the county from which you apply, but you will get it. Also, there is no need to carry your PDW with an empty chamber and mag well in Georgia. As far as the difference in other aspects of our laws, yes. There is a lot to learn. Begin by reading OCGA 16-11-120 through 16-11-135; this body of code is what is known as the Georgia Firearms and Weapons Act. Pay particular attention to 16-11-127. That section of Georgia Code is fairly unique and quite simply, a PITA but you have to familiarize yourself with it to remain on the right side of state law. Good luck and welcome.