Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SQL Exploit Attack?

Founder's Club Member

Post imported post

Welcome back OCDO member's.

What the frack happened?

Or was I the only poor-kid that couldn't get to this site from two different computers... I was getting worried.

Banned
    across Death's Door on Washington Island, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

Did you read and understand the error messages ("...marked as crashed. Try to fix it.")? Did you use a third party site like downforme? Loosen your tinfoil beanie, space cadet, there has been an increase in mywowbb traffic.

Post imported post

I don't know a lot about mysql, but I am an Oracle DBA. It didn't look like it was a traffic issue, it looked like a db crash to me. Could have been a data file corrupted, disk issues, a backup that went south... etc. It didn't look like an attack to me though.

Post imported post

It sure completely took it down. Looked like a database failure.
    "Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin

Banned

Post imported post

Yep, it sure did! Why I remember the last time...

Post imported post

I figured it was a mywowbb issue since vaguntrader was down with almost the same error message.

Post imported post

Actually he is correct, there is simple exploits with DOS attacks that can kill the SQL database. The message given was just a SQL error return, not something left by the owners.

Master Doug Huffman wrote:
    Did you read and understand the error messages ("...marked as crashed. Try to fix it.")? Did you use a third party site like downforme? Loosen your tinfoil beanie, space cadet, there has been an increase in mywowbb traffic.

Post imported post

Yes, but the vaguntrader site is still down. Leading me to believe this was coordinated, would not be the first time. Either way, glad we are bak up here!

Post imported post