Thread: Motorcycle question

Post imported post

I tried searching for it but couldn't find anything. My friend was wondering ifOC is legal on a motorcycle. I would think it would but I am not 100% on the laws. I saw the youtube video, but you can miss alot.

Banned

Post imported post

You can, but you need a CPL to do it.

Post imported post

stainless1911 wrote:
    You can, but you need a CPL to do it.
    actually, it is a grey area. not recommened without cpl, but not necessarily illegal.

It is not expressly prohibited by any statute and a case involving open carry on a motorcycle has not yet been heard.

I would recommend not oc'ing on a motorcycle without cpl unless you want to be the test case....but you may very well win your case.
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (who will watch the watchmen?)

I am not a lawyer. Nothing in any of posts should be construed as legal advice.

Post imported post

Anti-Saldana Freedom Fighter Venator's Avatar

Post imported post

BreakingTheMold wrote:
    The actually refers to motor vehicles, including boats and motor cycles. But not bicycles or horses.
    Not totally true. Some of the statutes just say vehicles without definition. The broadest definition of a vehicle could include a bike or a horse. This has been discussed ad nauseum in previous threads. Do a search.
    An Amazon best seller "MY PARENTS OPEN CARRY" http://www.myparentsopencarry.com/

*The information contained above is not meant to be legal advice, but is solely intended as a starting point for further research. These are my opinions, if you have further questions it is advisable to seek out an attorney that is well versed in firearm law.

Post imported post

the important part of the statute here in Michigan is "in a vehicle"

if you are ON the motorcycle and the pistol is being open carried ON your hip, the pistol is not IN the motorcycle.