Thread: Gun loan

Post imported post

Greetings to all!

I have been lurking on this board for awhile now. I want to thank you all for the great topics and info!

I have a question that I don't recall seeing here: I have a friend that has a potentially dangerous job, but he does not have a gun yet. He has not been able to find one that he likes. What are the legalities if I loan him one of my guns in the meantime? Do I have to report my gun as loaned out?

I hope to someday find the time to join you in your open carry meetups!

Post imported post

First, congrats on your first post!
    I was and still a habitual lurker.

I don't think you have to report anything to anyone.
    If he uses it, he's the responsible party.

I'm not a lawyer, but that just seems to make sense to me.
    I'm sure others will have much advice here...

-MH
    $2 Bill - Calling Card of the 2A Movement
    If you don't stand for something, you'll fall for anything.
    Seriously, who is John Galt?
    Vires et honestas

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar

Post imported post

Cisco wrote:
    Greetings to all!

I have been lurking on this board for awhile now. I want to thank you all for the great topics and info!

I have a question that I don't recall seeing here: I have a friend that has a potentially dangerous job, but he does not have a gun yet. He has not been able to find one that he likes. What are the legalities if I loan him one of my guns in the meantime? Do I have to report my gun as loaned out?

I hope to someday find the time to join you in your open carry meetups!
    Welcome to the forum Cisco.

First you need to add at least your state location to your profile as much information is state specific. Do this and we'll see how we need to answer you.

Most states do not have registration and do not require that you be the purchaser or registered owner to possess a hand gun, but all laws applicable must be obeyed.

Yata hey