Thread: open carry legal at old courthouse?

Post imported post

The Lapeer TEA party is having an event on the lawn of the old court house. This building is no longer used as a court house, and it across the street from the new one.

Is firearm possession legal on the front lawn?

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (who will watch the watchmen?)

I am not a lawyer. Nothing in any of posts should be construed as legal advice.

Post imported post

I would think that if it's not a court anymore then it would be fine, but that's just a guess.
    "You'll be walking along.. OC.. and you'll feel GREAT. You'll feel FREEEEE like 1776 kind of Free." -cscitney87

Post imported post

anyone have a link to the court order or whatever it is called that makes it unlawful to carry in a court?

Post imported post

As I remember, the illegality is a result of a state supreme court ruling. I'll try to look it up.
    Answer every question about open carry in Michigan you ever had with one convenient and free book- http://libertyisforeveryone.com/open-carry-resources/

The complete and utter truth can be challenged from every direction and it will always hold up. Accordingly there are few greater displays of illegitimacy than to attempt to impede free thought and communication.

Post imported post

The lawn should be fine. And if it is not an active courthouse I doubt the local security ruling has any affect on it any more.
    Anything I post may be my opinion and not the law... you are responsible to do your own verification.

Blackstone (1753-1765) maintains that "the law holds that it is better that ten guilty persons escape than that one innocent suffer."

Post imported post

Office of supreme court [ Michigan ] Lansing has web site . Mi.gov

Post imported post

taxwhat wrote:
    Office of supreme court [ Michigan] Lansing has web site . Mi.gov
    Here is a link that might help out http://courts.michigan.gov/scao/index.htm

MOC Charter Member Westland, Michigan, USA