Thread: Women and open carry

Post imported post

Hi everyone, I don’t know if you remember me, I’m a journalist working for a UK glossy women’s magazine on an article about women and Open Carry, and I posted here a few weeks ago. I’ve been talking to a lot of women over the last few weeks about why they carry, and why some are choosing to OC and my editor would now like me to look into crime statistics.
    One female firearms instructor I interviewed mentioned that there’s a correlation between areas where you can carry and lower crime rates, and I would love to see if there are any stats to back that up. I thought you guys may be able to point me in the right direction? Any suggestions or links you can provide would be most welcome!
    Also, if you’re a woman who would like to tell me why you choose to OC, what the pros and cons are for you, please post here, too!
    Thanks for all your help,
    Andreina

Banned
    across Death's Door on Washington Island, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

John R. Lott, Jr., PhD 'More Guns, Less Crime: Understanding Crime and Gun Control Laws, University of Chicago Press, chicago, 1998 (first edition. 3rd edition due 5 May with 168 more pages). ISBN: 0-226-49363-6

Data sets publicly available at http://www.johnlott.org/

Dr. Lott corresponds comfortably mailto:johnrlott@aol.com

and maintains a public 'blog at http://johnrlott.blogspot.com/

ETA since the NRA was mentioned

Post imported post

If you want to compare crime statistics, just compare a shall-issue/unlisc open carry/VT/AK area to a similar type area ( they both have similar demographics and racial mix, economic staus, etc) that is not shall-issue/unlisc OC/VT/AK.

To give you ideas- northeast New Jersey, central Maryland, southern California, and thesuburban countiesaround NYC, are some good places to look at for crime rates. These are in non shall-issue, and not so citizens-with-guns friendly places.