Thread: Generic response when asked if you are a LEO

Post imported post

I just got home from lunch at Quizno's located at Trop and Decatur where I was questioned for the first time by the proprietor of a business. I had just placed my order and walked to the other end of the counter to pay. The girl who took my order began to make my sandwich but the other girl who was working the cashier saw that I was carrying and went to the back to tell the owner/manager. The owner came out to the register and asked me if I was a police officer.

I responded generically, saying "I cannot answer that question." She said "Fair enough, have a nice day," then turned to the cashier and said "Ring him up."

I did not get the sense that they where in a panic or anything, none of them exhibited any fear or apprehension. There where no customers in the store save one kid filling out an application. I saw someone suggest on this forum to answer generically when asked if you where a LEO so I thought I would give it a try.

I think good attire tends to lend credibility to people open carrying. I wore Dickie's carpenter bluejeans, An olive green polo with a collar, nice belt and nice watch and shoes. If I where dressing like I was the lead character in Malibu's Most Wanted, the result may have been very different.
    Nevada Campus Carry: The Movement Continues
    http://nvcampuscarry.blogspot.com

Founder's Club Member

Post imported post

Why not take it as an opportunity to promote self-defense rights and tell her you are just an ordinary guy?

I remember one young woman who asked me if I was a cop. I told her I wasn't, then explained. By the time we were done she had decided to download the CCW permit from the state police website later that day.