Thread: New member, looking for literature...

Post imported post

Hello everyone, I am a long-time Virginia resident and have been carrying concealed for a long time. I am amazed at how little I have known about Open Carry laws and I am working to rectify that. I live in Northern Virginia and I am curious about what literature I can carry on myself should I be challenged. I plan to OC for the first time this week and like anything- I want to be prepared.

My thanks for any assistance- I hope to become a valuable member of the community.

Post imported post

Welcome!

WoundedVet wrote:
    Open Carry laws
    Open carry laws??? What open carry laws? There aren't any.

Ed's OC Cards - You can PM him with a request and he should be willing to mail 'em out to ya. http://opencarry.mywowbb.com/pm.php?send_to=ed

The Virginia Constitution if you feel so inclined

Carry a voice recorder and if it's not always on, make sure you can turn it on quickly and discretely.

Also consider joining the VCDL and checking out the NOVA OC dinners.
    Sic Semper Tyrannis

Post imported post

WoundedVet wrote:
    Hello everyone, I am a long-time Virginia resident and have been carrying concealed for a long time. I am amazed at how little I have known about Open Carry laws and I am working to rectify that. I live in Northern Virginia and I am curious about what literature I can carry on myself should I be challenged. I plan to OC for the first time this week and like anything- I want to be prepared.

My thanks for any assistance- I hope to become a valuable member of the community.
    welcome to the site!

I've been open carrying in northern Virginia just about every day since early 2008, and have never had a negative experience.

Look here:

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_Transporting.shtm