Thread: Moving to Henderson with some questions

Post imported post

Hi. I am new to the board and will soon be moving from Chicago to Henderson. Needless to say I am very excited to be moving to such a gun friendly state from such an anti-gun city. I have one question though. I have an IWB holster for my 1911. if my shirt is tucked in and only the handle is showing, is that considered concealed or open? Does the whole weapon have to be visible? I do plan on getting my CCW shortly after I move there but am wondering how to carry in the meantime.

Thanks

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

I'm no expert on this, but you'll find some on here who are. Personally, I wouldn't leave it up for interpretation, just my .02 (which aint a lot).

Post imported post

Concealed Weapons:
    NRS 202.350 is the law concerning concealed weapons. Below is the definition of a concealed weapon per this law:

Quote: "Concealed weapon” means a weapon described in this section that is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.

Anyone concealing a firearm without a concealed carry permit recognized by Nevada is guilty of a class C felony. Per NRS 202.3688, NRS 202.3689, and the Department of Public Safety list, Nevada recognizes permits from AK, AR, KA, LA, MI, MO, NE, OH, TN, and WV. However, Nevada residents must have Nevada permits.
    Also, according to Attorney General Opinion AG 93-14, a weapon is concealed only if it is hidden on a person (such as under a jacket) or if it is in a container that is being carried by that person. If a gun is in a briefcase and that briefcase is in one’s hand, then that person is carrying a concealed weapon. But if that briefcase is on the floor nearby then that person is not carrying a concealed weapon.