Thread: Couple Questions

Post imported post

There were a couple things I didnt understand from the Open carry flyer.

How do open carry in my car? Do I just leave it holstered as I would outside or do I have to take it out.

Also I can't conceal a magazine? and can I keep an empty magazine in the weapon? I don't want dust n junk getting in there.

I'm new to open carry in California I didn't even know about it til a day or so ago. How could I not know of something this important, I'm not sure. But now I need to learn as much as possible. Thanks in advance

Post imported post

bryon wrote:
    How do open carry in my car? Do I just leave it holstered as I would outside or do I have to take it out.
    You can leave it holstered, but be sure that it is not covered by any part of the vehicle, such as the center console (if there is one). Alternatively you can set it on the dashboard or on the seat next to you. However most of us do not recommend open carry in a vehicle, as it is difficult to avoid gun-free school zones while driving.

bryon wrote:
    Also I can't conceal a magazine? and can I keep an empty magazine in the weapon? I don't want dust n junk getting in there.
    Yes, you may keep an empty magazine in the gun. This is preferred by many, including myself, for a number of reasons.

There is no law that specifically prohibits concealing a magazine, but due to some bad case law (People v. Hale), it may be a violation of PC 12025 to conceal a loaded magazine while having the accompanying handgun in your immediate possession/control. I do not consider Hale to be the settled law of the land, but unless you wish to be a test case, I suggest you don't conceal any loaded handgun magazines. Loose rounds, revolver speedloaders and moonclips are fine to conceal, however, as they are not an integral part of the firearm.
    Do you want to enjoy liberty in your lifetime?

Consider moving to New Hampshire as part of the Free State Project.

"Live Free or Die"