• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Personnel Policy

S

scubabeme

imported post

I have no knowledge of other cities' personnel policies, but I'm hearing rumblings that a local municipality is at least considering prohibiting city employees from carrying, even concealed, on city property and/or while at work.

Now I know a private company can use personnel rules to keep emplyees from carrying, as it's private property and that's covered by law. What about a governmental entity?

Along with the banning of carrying at work goes not being able to store weapons in private vehicles on city property and--this is the kicker--employees' vehicles will be subject to search! That's how the rumbling goes.

Next comes the enforcement of this policy. If properly concealed, how would they know--body searches? If so, EVERYBODY, or just those who can be identified as CCW holders because of the police department's access to such information? How often? Vehicle searches--same thing.

Then there's the issue of whether this only applies while at work, or 24x7? What EXACTLY constitutes city property--will employees be subject to dismissal if "discovered" carrying while walking their dog in an open space area? (Again--how is it discovered if properly concealed???)