Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Legality Question

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2

    Post imported post

    Hello, I'm new here. So hello everyone.

    I am 20 years old a few months shy of 21 and I am going receive a handgun as a gift from a family member. I want to know if I need to wait until 21 and get a PPP to have it transferred to me, or is this legally fine and I can legally open carry the handgun I am going to receive before my 21st birthday.


    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Raeford, NC Hoke County, ,
    Posts
    79

    Post imported post



  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    9

    Post imported post

    RegalNC wrote:
    KevOC wrote:
    Hello, I'm new here. So hello everyone.

    I am 20 years old a few months shy of 21 and I received a handgun as a gift from a family member. I want to know if I need to wait until 21 and get a PPP to have it transferred to me, or is this legally fine and I can legally open carry the handgun I received.


    Thanks.
    Age 21 nor PPP required. Obtain a signed receipt from the seller with: Date, SN, Make, Model and their SIGNATURE.
    The above information is incorrect. A PPP is required, even as a gift. In 99% of cases a sheriff is going to deny it for anyone under 21.

    See NC Firearm Laws by Attorney General: http://www.grnc.org/images/wa_2007NCFirearmsLawsPub.pdf

    N.C. Gen. Stat. ยง 14-402(a) - http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedL...GS_14-402.html

    This will be good for you to read.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2

    Post imported post

    Thank you for the help.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hickory, NC, ,
    Posts
    1,025

    Post imported post

    Realize that you don't have to receive it as your property or register it in your name to carry it. If they are fine with you possessing it until you can get a PPP then you can carry it. No laws against carrying someone else's firearm. Once you turn 21 get a PPP and call it yours. A receipt is not required by law. Some sellers require it for personal reasons, but the state does not. All you need for a Face to Face sell is a PPP or CCP and DL to prove they are who they say they are. Then exchange the money and you are done with your legal obligations.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •