Thread: National Park Carry

Post imported post

I searched the SC forum for 'National Park' and came up empty. I hope I'm not covering ground that's already been gone over, but here it is.

I'm a Virginia Resident with a Virginia CHP visiting your fine state and was considering taking a trip to Congaree National Park tomorrow. My understanding is that National Parks now follow the same rules as the State in which they are located. I just wanted to double check here and make sure there were no 'gotchas' with me concealed carrying in SC in a National Park.

Post imported post

Check out the attachment

Banned
    across Death's Door on Washington Island, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

"South Carolina Must inform Officer"

Believe nothing you read or hear without verifying it yourself unless it fits your preexisting world view.

http://www.handgunlaw.us/documents/USRVCarCarry.pdf

National Parks and National Wildlife Refuges (NWR) Carry
    National Park Carry will go into effect February 22, 2010. That means if you have a
    permit/license that is legal in the state the National Park is located in you can carry in that
    National Park. Until that time carry in National Parks is illegal.
    Title 36 Chpt. 1 Part 2 2.4 Weapons traps and nets.
    (h) Notwithstanding any other provision in this Chapter, a person may possess,
    carry, and transport concealed, loaded, and operable firearms within a national park area
    in accordance with the laws of the state in which the national park area, or that portion there of,
    is located, except as otherwise prohibited by applicable federal law.
    Chapter 50 Chapter 1 Part 27 27.42 Firearms.
    www.handgunlaw.us 2
    (e) Notwithstanding any other provision in this Chapter, persons may possess,
    carry, and transport concealed, loaded, and operable firearms within a national wildlife
    refuge in accordance with the laws of the state in which the wildlife refuge, or that