Thread: Question on getting paperwork for a Florida permit

Post imported post

I have been carrying in the state of CT for 14 years. I am now filling out the paperwork for the state of Florida. I have all fingerprints and paperwork complete. The only thing left is they want paperwork from the class I took 14 years ago. Or some kind of signed paper saying I am qualified to carry. They will not take a copy of my license of hunting permit. Anyone have any ideas.

Post imported post

bigcntry88 wrote:
    I have been carrying in the state of CT for 14 years. I am now filling out the paperwork for the state of Florida. I have all fingerprints and paperwork complete. The only thing left is they want paperwork from the class I took 14 years ago. Or some kind of signed paper saying I am qualified to carry. They will not take a copy of my license of hunting permit. Anyone have any ideas.
    Yeah, since the two states do not have reciprocity, they won't take a copy of your carry permit.

Take an NRA class, or if you shoot competitively, ask the match director if he/she would sign a statement that he/she witnessed your safe, competent gun handling. Or take a hunter safety class.

Former Military? You can use your DD214.

Post imported post

So I have to take a another hunter safety course? Discharged in 94.Will they take that even though it is 16 years ago? One way or the other sounds like I am going to a class. Or have someone I know right a letter. They always throw in a wrench.

Post imported post

Has Florida indicated that a 14 year old certificate would be acceptible? I applied for a Maine carry permit last summer & was rejected b/c my certificate was over 5 years old.

Any chance of getting a copy of your certificate from 14 years ago? If you're in a small town, they might still have it. My town had mine, and that was from 1994.

Post imported post

bigcntry88 wrote: