Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Age to Open Carry in Maine?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    9

    Post imported post

    Im 17 years old and I own a glock 22, and am a resident of rural Maine. Because Maine's law does not specify an age to open carry, does that mean I can legally open carry?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    514

    Post imported post

    If you post this in the Maine forum you might get a quicker response...

    Here in WA you have to be 21 to own a handgun... so the age to carry is the same.

    There is a loophole whereby an adult can buy you a handgun after you turn 18 but you have to keep it unloaded and locked away unless you are using it at a gun club or range... or something to that effect.



  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, ,
    Posts
    115

    Post imported post

    daddy4count wrote:
    If you post this in the Maine forum you might get a quicker response...

    Here in WA you have to be 21 to own a handgun... so the age to carry is the same.

    There is a loophole whereby an adult can buy you a handgun after you turn 18 but you have to keep it unloaded and locked away unless you are using it at a gun club or range... or something to that effect.

    Actually you have to be 18 to own handguns in Washington or anywhere in the US for that matter(Federal law supersedes state law)

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    514

    Post imported post

    Perhaps the letter of the law states that you can own one... but if the state catches you in POSSESSION of a handgun under the age of 21 they will prosecute... and have many times in the past.



  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, ,
    Posts
    115

    Post imported post

    daddy4count wrote:
    Perhaps the letter of the law states that you can own one... but if the state catches you in POSSESSION of a handgun under the age of 21 they will prosecute... and have many times in the past.

    When you say possession I assume you mean outside of your home?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    514

    Post imported post

    Yes, in your home (and in most cases on your property) you can pretty much do what you want.

    Though I imagine aiming out you window at passers by would still be frowned upon...

    In possession of a handgun, under 21, can mean trouble. Unless you are at or on your way to or from a place designated for use of the firearm, and it is unloaded and locked away.

    Long guns used to be different, age to purchase was 18, but I'm not sure if the state has imposed similar constraints on rifles...

    Personally I think you should be able to do everything at 18. If you can vote and deffend this country then you should also be able to drink beer and carry a handgun. Though maybe at different times...


  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, ,
    Posts
    115

    Post imported post

    soudersG22 wrote:
    Im 17 years old and I own a glock 22, and am a resident of rural Maine. Because Maine's law does not specify an age to open carry, does that mean I can legally open carry?
    From what I gather from reading Maine Statutes, YES YOU CAN(put you can't carry loaded in a car). IANAL and am not giving legal advice. you should try calling the sheriff's dept.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    514

    Post imported post

    I am also not a lawyer... but common sense would dictate that if it is legal for gun owners to open carry where you live... and you are a legal gun owner... then it follows that you would be legal to carry said gun.



  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, ,
    Posts
    115

    Post imported post

    Can you post Statute that states you must be 21 to carry firearm?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    514

    Post imported post

    I don't know it off the top of my head...

    I have recently read news articles of sub-21 year olds being arrested for possession of loaded firearms.

    The state statutes that I have read typically refer to a person "18 years of age or older who is in legal possession of..."

    but there is no definition of what legal possession is for a person under age... at least that I have found... but I have not read every page...

    So it is likely open to local interpretation.

    It is illegal here to carry a loaded gun in your car if you aren't licensed to CC







  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, ,
    Posts
    115

    Post imported post

    would you happen to kno if WA issues CCW to non residents?


    --Improper state forum --

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    514

    Post imported post

    Yes, if you have a concealed carry permit in your home state, and WA reciprocates with that state...

    some info here: http://www.handgunlaw.us/


    --Improper state forum --



  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    514

    Post imported post

    Here you go...

    http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.41.240

    Statute RCW 9.41.240

    Posession of a Pistol by Persons 18 to 21 years

    Unless an exception under RCW 9.41.042, 9.41.050, or 9.41.060 applies, a person at least eighteen years of age, but less than twenty-one years of age, may possess a pistol only:

    (1) In the person's place of abode;

    (2) At the person's fixed place of business; or

    (3) On real property under his or her control.





  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    somewhere, somewhere USA
    Posts
    380

    Post imported post

    i would call the ATF beareau in maine 207-780-3324 and ask directly.

    Maines law states you must be 21 to purchase a handgun through FFL *federally licensed dealer* and 18 to purchase a firearm through a private sale with ID.

    Maines law also states you can carry a handgun and be accepted for a CCW at the age of 18.

    however federal law states that transfering a pistol to anyone under legal age is a felony. meaning if you OC and it turns out to be illegal, not only will you be arrested and fined, so will your parents.

    seeing as your 17 it is a very important question in your case that you NEED to find the legal deffinition before you actually attempt it.

    either call a good lawyer and ask or contact the ATF :-) but dont try it untill you do buddy :-) good luck

  15. #15
    Accomplished Advocate
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Freeport, Maine, United States
    Posts
    667

    Post imported post

    He's 18 now and we covered his bases through PM's. You can legally carry at any age in Maine, but whoever gave you the firearm or "transferred" it to you can and probably will get into some serious trouble. So... just be 18 to carry openly or concealed with a permit. Of course it doesn't really make sense that you can purchase a handgun private sale at 18, but you need to be 21 to purchase one through a FFL dealer.

  16. #16
    Regular Member Hendu024's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    447

    Post imported post

    jay75009 wrote:
    i would call the ATF beareau in maine 207-780-3324 and ask directly.

    Maines law states you must be 21 to purchase a handgun through FFL *federally licensed dealer* and 18 to purchase a firearm through a private sale with ID.

    Maines law also states you can carry a handgun and be accepted for a CCW at the age of 18.

    however federal law states that transfering a pistol to anyone under legal age is a felony. meaning if you OC and it turns out to be illegal, not only will you be arrested and fined, so will your parents.

    seeing as your 17 it is a very important question in your case that you NEED to find the legal deffinition before you actually attempt it.

    either call a good lawyer and ask or contact the ATF :-) but dont try it untill you do buddy :-) good luck
    any cites to all these laws you are stating?

  17. #17
    Accomplished Advocate
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Freeport, Maine, United States
    Posts
    667

    Post imported post

    Hendu024 wrote:
    jay75009 wrote:
    i would call the ATF beareau in maine 207-780-3324 and ask directly.

    Maines law states you must be 21 to purchase a handgun through FFL *federally licensed dealer* and 18 to purchase a firearm through a private sale with ID.

    Maines law also states you can carry a handgun and be accepted for a CCW at the age of 18.

    however federal law states that transfering a pistol to anyone under legal age is a felony. meaning if you OC and it turns out to be illegal, not only will you be arrested and fined, so will your parents.

    seeing as your 17 it is a very important question in your case that you NEED to find the legal deffinition before you actually attempt it.

    either call a good lawyer and ask or contact the ATF :-) but dont try it untill you do buddy :-) good luck
    any cites to all these laws you are stating?
    Unlawful transfer of a handgun to a minor: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legi...Asec554-B.html

    Age to get a permit to carry concealed: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legi...25sec2003.html



  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    9

    Post imported post

    Hey guys, im 18 now woot! Thanks for all the info, it wasent necessarily for practically it just seemed like an interestingly worded law that I wanted to clarify..Thanks

  19. #19
    Regular Member simmonsjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mattaponi, Virginia, United States
    Posts
    1,664

    Post imported post

    Why did anyone respond to this cat? direct him to the MAPS page.

    http://opencarry.org/age.html
    illegal ≠ immoral legal ≠ moral
    [SIZE=1]"I never submitted the whole system of my opinions to the creed of any party of men whatever in religion, in philosophy, in politics, or in anything else where I was capable of thinking for myself. "Such an addiction is the last degradation of a free and moral agent." - Thomas Jefferson
    G19 Gen 4; Bersa Thunder 380; Sig Sauer P238; Kel-Tec su-16c

  20. #20
    Accomplished Advocate
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Freeport, Maine, United States
    Posts
    667

    Post imported post

    simmonsjoe wrote:
    Why did anyone respond to this cat? direct him to the MAPS page.

    http://opencarry.org/age.html
    because his question portrayed that he had already viewed that map and was asking more specifically to double check and see if the map is right... As it stands if you listen to that you can get into some hot water. Yes OC is legal at any age in Maine, but you can't have a handgun transferred to you except for a few specific purposes unless you are eighteen.

  21. #21
    Regular Member simmonsjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mattaponi, Virginia, United States
    Posts
    1,664

    Post imported post

    shanebelanger wrote:
    simmonsjoe wrote:
    Why did anyone respond to this cat? direct him to the MAPS page.

    http://opencarry.org/age.html
    because his question portrayed that he had already viewed that map and was asking more specifically to double check and see if the map is right... As it stands if you listen to that you can get into some hot water. Yes OC is legal at any age in Maine, but you can't have a handgun transferred to you except for a few specific purposes unless you are eighteen.
    OK I see. This is a legal/illegal possession issue. Is it legal for a parent to let you use one of their handguns? Borrowing isn't technically transferring a firearm is it?
    illegal ≠ immoral legal ≠ moral
    [SIZE=1]"I never submitted the whole system of my opinions to the creed of any party of men whatever in religion, in philosophy, in politics, or in anything else where I was capable of thinking for myself. "Such an addiction is the last degradation of a free and moral agent." - Thomas Jefferson
    G19 Gen 4; Bersa Thunder 380; Sig Sauer P238; Kel-Tec su-16c

  22. #22
    Accomplished Advocate
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Freeport, Maine, United States
    Posts
    667

    Post imported post

    simmonsjoe wrote:
    shanebelanger wrote:
    simmonsjoe wrote:
    Why did anyone respond to this cat? direct him to the MAPS page.

    http://opencarry.org/age.html
    because his question portrayed that he had already viewed that map and was asking more specifically to double check and see if the map is right... As it stands if you listen to that you can get into some hot water. Yes OC is legal at any age in Maine, but you can't have a handgun transferred to you except for a few specific purposes unless you are eighteen.
    OK I see. This is a legal/illegal possession issue. Is it legal for a parent to let you use one of their handguns? Borrowing isn't technically transferring a firearm is it?
    Well, with how the statutes read "borrowing" is transferring. transferring according to the statute is having in the possession of the minor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •