Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: private transfers

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    24

    Post imported post

    im new to missouri and was curios about private transfers. i was hoping that you guys may be able to help me out. i understandf that in missouri no there is no registration for both long guns and handguns. my question is are the rules the same for private sales and transfers for handgungs the same as long guns? so long as i belive that the person im selling to is legally capable of owning a firearm it is ok to sell it them a handgun. its just a little different for me seeing as how im from michigan where you need a purchase permit, and now here in missouri i dont. thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member cshoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , Missouri, USA
    Posts
    687

    Post imported post

    That is correct. A private sale can be made between two adults (at least 18 years of age) who are lawfully entitled to posses firearms, without any kind of registration, background checks, or licensing in the State of Missouri, as long as both parties are citizens of this state. That applies to long guns, AND handguns.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Big Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    STL, MO
    Posts
    443

    Post imported post

    I would just type up a document of sale and have him sign it. That way if anything ever happens with the gun you have proof that it wasn't yours anymore.

  4. #4
    Regular Member zekester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Uvalde, Texas
    Posts
    665

    Post imported post

    I would have something signed for sure.

    I sold a gun to a friend of mine and was unaware that he had a felony in Illinois years early.

    I got a visit from the ATF....the reason....he registered the gun. If he had not it would not have been a problem, but apparently in Illinois you have to...hell I don't know...this was years ago.

    I had a bill of sell and nothing happened to me, but!!!!!

    Needless to say...they conficated the weapon, and my friend then wanted his money back.....

    Didn't happen, but always get something in writing....

    Z

    GOD gave me rights!!!....The Constitutuion just confirms it!!

  5. #5
    Regular Member cshoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , Missouri, USA
    Posts
    687

    Post imported post

    A bill of sale is a good idea, but it is not required. If you are really that worried about it and want to cover your own behind, you can have any FFL perform a transfer for around $20.00. If it were me, I probably wouldn't sell without the transfer unless it was a family member, or a very close personal friend that I knew very well. And remember, you cannot sell a handgun to a resident of another state in a private sale. That sale would be required to go through a FFL.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    24

    Post imported post

    thanks guys. im not worried about the background. i know thats all good, its just different for me because where im from you have to have a purchase permit and here you dont. it kinda threw me for a loop. we both are missouri residents so thats another im not worried about. i think im gonna really love it here!! +1 to missouri for being a better state.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •