• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Concealed weapon permit question

Lawman635

imported post

Hey everyone, I have a question here and i am asking for feedback, on a question that has been bothering me. I am a current Utah state resident with a CWP from utah. Im moving to Idaho and i have been kicking the idea of getting a idaho CWP, now when i contact BCI will they just change the address and let me keep the resident Utah CWP, or will they send me one for Idaho? Or when i change address with BCI will they keep sending me renewals for Utah CWP every five years? Or will it then change status to a Non-Resident Utah CWP?

Any help/feedback with this would be much appreciated.

"The difference between an American and the rest of the world, is that we would rather die on our feet, than live on our knee's"

IndianaBoy79

imported post

I'm unfamiliar with Utah's statue's, but Idaho recognizes all valid out of state licenses/permits. If Utah will let you keep your license as a resident of another state, then it will be valid here. If your Utah license becomes invalid after you move, you will need to get an Idaho one.

My advice: try to keep your Utah license AND get an Idaho one. It will increase the states you can travel to, and you'll have an overlap when one expires giving you time to renew it.

Porter N