Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Carry in school

Post imported post

Hi all,

I am a teacher in a public school in metro Detroit. I have a CPL license. My question is this....Can I leave my loaded or unloaded pistol in my car while I am at work for the day as long as it is in a secured place? Also, Could my school district have any recourse for me doing this (Obviously I have no intention on telling them, but you never know how things are found out)? The school district is a traditional public school district. Thank you all for your comments in advance.

Anti-Saldana Freedom Fighter Venator's Avatar

Post imported post

opencarryteacher wrote:
    Hi all,

I am a teacher in a public school in metro Detroit. I have a CPL license. My question is this....Can I leave my loaded or unloaded pistol in my car while I am at work for the day as long as it is in a secured place? Also, Could my school district have any recourse for me doing this (Obviously I have no intention on telling them, but you never know how things are found out)? The school district is a traditional public school district. Thank you all for your comments in advance.
    The CPL statute allows conceal carry in parking lots, so you would not be breaking any firearm laws by leaving a secured loaded handgun in your vehicle.

Ibelieve the school district could ban staff from having firearms while they are on the clock. If you violated the policy they could impose some sort of discipline up to termination. I suspect your employee handbook would have this spelled out.

In case you were not aware and as anaside it is lawful to open carry a handgun in and on school property if you have a CPL, but then your coworkers and bosses would know you carry.

An Amazon best seller "MY PARENTS OPEN CARRY" http://www.myparentsopencarry.com/