luke.moses wrote:The laws are different state-to-state so you might also post this in the Colorado thread. In Virginia, it is legal for an 18year old to OC and to buy a gun from a private seller. They can't buy through an FFL which severely limits buying via the internet sites like gunbroker.com.Hi all...
I'm new to this whole OC thing and have been wandering around this forum and have seen a lot of intelligent posts and decided to have a go.
My main thoughts are "What hoops does a 19 year-old have to jump through to get a handgun?" to my understanding it is legal for someone over the age of 18 to carry outside of Denver... correct me if I am wrong please... but you have to be 21 to purchase a handgun, so using a little bit of logic there must be a legal way to obtain a handgun before the age of 21... also "What would be an acceptable first handgun to purchase?" i was thinking something like a Beretta M9 as my first... (maybe a 1911 down the road) thanks for any input and i look forward to the discussions on this forum.
Thanks to all,
As far as hoops, read your states laws (nra-ila.org http://www.nraila.org/GunLaws/) and the federal Gun Free School Zone. If your concealed handgun/weapon permit involves training it "wonderfully" negates the GFSZ and then only state laws apply. Of course to get a CHP in VA you have to be 21. :-) Most people start OC-ing close to home in Grocery stores, gas stations etc. If you understand the laws you can avoid most adverse meetings with law enforcement. Colorado is a pretty good state to OC in and I did in Ft Collins last time I visited. (Just stay away from Denver)
In Virginia people had to "educate" LEO departmentsabout OC and over time it has gotten easier for the rest of us follow-on-ers. If you monitor the Colorado thread they will give you heads up of what places are OC-friendly or not.