Thread: How does this affect Hawaii?

How does this affect Hawaii?

SCOTUS released their decision of McDonald v Chicago.
    http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/09pdf/08-1521.pdf

Went 5-4 that the Second Amendment is incorporated.

I'm a local born Filipino and
    I'm moving back to Oahu and bringing all my firearms with me. I'm a NV resident with a CC permit and already have one my Glocks registered in Oahu from last years trip to Honolulu.
    I know of the "May-not" issue CC and no OC laws. May this soon change based on this ruling?
    I'll be back in August and would sure like to get together with as many Pro 2A people to help get things stirred/changed.
    Last edited by sksbubba; 06-30-2010 at 06:42 PM.

Banned
    Washington Island, across Death's Door, Wisconsin, USA
    State statutes must be challenged in state supreme court after their cases make their way up through the jurisprudential feeding chain. And you don't want just any old case but a good one, remembering that a good error is better than a bad case.

Not state court

Quote Originally Posted by Doug Huffman View Post
    State statutes must be challenged in state supreme court after their cases make their way up through the jurisprudential feeding chain. And you don't want just any old case but a good one, remembering that a good error is better than a bad case.
    You should go Federal, do not go to Hawaii Court. They pretty much said in the 1990's in State v Mendoza (Hawaii Supreme Court) that their RKBA provision means nothing. You are better off in the 9th circuit. Nordyke may even give additional guidance on top of McDonald for the 9th cir.

Quote Originally Posted by Jared View Post
    You should go Federal, do not go to Hawaii Court. They pretty much said in the 1990's in State v Mendoza (Hawaii Supreme Court) that their RKBA provision means nothing. You are better off in the 9th circuit. Nordyke may even give additional guidance on top of McDonald for the 9th cir.