Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Just what is Green Top's policy regarding open carry?

Angry Just what is Green Top's policy regarding open carry?

I was just at Green Top after the Richmond OC breakfast today, and I was planning out a purchase of a Springfield M1A Scout or Socom... speaking with Joe Gokey (sp?). I believe he is a new employee, but can't be certain. I haven't seen him there before. After walking about the store and perusing shotguns and accessories on just about every aisle, I waited 5 to 10 minutes at the gun counter to speak with Joe G. about the differences in the M1A models.

In the midst of the discussion whilst I was contemplating the models and how I wanted to pay for it, Joe G. asked me if I was a police officer. I politely informed him that I was not. He then abruptly told me open carry was not allowed in the store and posed the question "Did you not read the sign on the door?" I told him that I read the sign in the door when it was first put up several months ago.

Joe G. then turned to Joe Hopkins and asked for clarification of OC policy in the store. Joe Hopkins said "only if the mag is out, unloaded." I then informed both of them that I obliged the sign by being a permit holder. Joe G. got on his high horse immediately and said "WELL if you have a CHP WHY ARE YOU OPEN CARRYING?!" I asked him why I shouldn't be and to that he said "well nevermind." At that point I said "yeah, nevermind, I came here to shop not argue politics*" and left the store, only to return several minutes later to ask for Joe G's name and to make sure of Joe Hopkins'

(*Yes I know it wasn't really setting up to be an argument of politics, but rather the merits of oc vs cc. Politics is just what rolled off my tongue, it got the point across.)