A friend in Louisiana had a "situation" at home that has convinced both he and his wife that they need to start carrying. He asked me about the fastest way to get a concealed carry license that is good in Louisiana. Here's my reply; please critique it if I stated anything that is inaccurate or incomplete, or if I left something out:
Probably the fastest state to issue a license recognized in Louisiana is Utah. Problem is, you do have to take a basic safety course from an instructor they have certified, and there aren't any in Louisiana, and most of the ones in Texas are in DFW or Houston areas.
And by "fastest", I mean 30-45 days. Not exactly speedy.
Now for the good news:
1. No license is needed to carry openly or concealed on your own property.
2. No license is needed to carry openly or concealed in your vehicle, so long as it's not concealed on your person.
3. No license is needed to carry OPENLY (not concealed), anywhere except those places off limits by law, like schools and government buildings. Louisiana law only prohibits *concealed* carry without a license, and the state supreme court and attorney general have stated that open carry is a right under the state constitution.
4. Unfortunately, not all police got the memo, and open carrying can result in some harassment.
The other good news: the statewide concealed handgun permit that is issued by the state police is only one of two licenses that is available. The other is a parish permit, which was available long before the statewide law. The parish permit is issued by the sheriff.
Good: it's not subject to all the restrictions the CHP is.
Bad: it's not "must-issue"; sheriffs have discretion to issue them or not.
Good: if your sheriff is willing, it's fast. On the spot, sometimes.
Bad: it's only good in your parish.
Good: outside your parish, you're still legal to carry in your vehicle or openly.
Here's the best source of info for carrying in LA (check the FAQs):
For information about reciprocity and other states:
Hope that helps.
My friend just got his LA CHP in about a month.
There are literally dozens of instructors in Louisiana giving the safety courses.
I asked my buddy last night, he said he got his LA CHP in 2 weeks from the time he sent it in.