Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I was told to resign or not carry my weapon.

I was told to resign or not carry my weapon.

I have been carrying my g36 for over two years openly at work. There is nothing in the "employee handbook" that says i cannot, but my boss out of the blue told me today..." I want your resignation today unless you agree to not carry a weapon"

I know that he has every right to restrict firearms, but if I have been carrying for two years, what the hell is that?

I am pretty much screwed.....I am sure

That said....don't buy from Milford Plumbing Supply in the St louis area....but stop by the St Charles store and say hi!!

Zeke
    Last edited by zekester; 08-27-2010 at 08:28 PM.

Sounds like he was having a bad day maybe. What do you do?

I almost got fired for a pocket knife the other day.

Well, man, that's a tough call. To give up a right for a job or a job for a right. Before ditching your job (if that's your intention, you're my hero) consider the likeliness of any other companies to actually allow you to open carry. You don't want to lose a job because of open carry to end up getting another job that also doesn't allow open carry. I guess it'd depend how tight cash is for you.

I just got permission from one of my three employers within the last hour to carry my 1' combat knife at work which was originally restricted in the employee handbook. It's excusable because I cut a lot of boxes.

Quote Originally Posted by bennie1986 View Post
    Sounds like he was having a bad day maybe. What do you do?

I almost got fired for a pocket knife the other day.
    You serious? That's so silly people are scared of those things. My coworkers were originally nervous about my 3" Winchester folding knife (for $12, that thing is pretty awesome) but now they love to use it when they can. Like open carry of firearms, it was the case of getting the people used to it.