Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Proper private transfer of a firearm to a CPL holder?

  1. #1
    Regular Member kyleplusitunes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lennon Michigan, ,
    Posts
    533

    Proper private transfer of a firearm to a CPL holder?

    what paperwork do I need to get a handgun from my friend? this will be the first time since I have had my cpl that I have purchased a new gun in any form, I am not familiar with the steps.

  2. #2
    Regular Member WARCHILD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Corunna, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    1,765
    Use this form:
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Regular Member Bronson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    2,157
    You will keep a copy, your friend will keep a copy, and you will mail or hand deliver two copies to your local PD. They in turn will keep one copy and forward one copy to the State Police. If you plan on carrying the gun you must carry your copy of the RI-60 for thirty days, after that you are not required to have the paperwork with you. Some folks advise that afte 30 days you go to your local PD and ask for confirmation that the gun made it onto the state's registry but this is not required by law.

    Bronson
    Those who expect to reap the benefits of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it. Thomas Paine

  4. #4
    Activist Member hamaneggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    1,246
    Quote Originally Posted by Bronson View Post
    You will keep a copy, your friend will keep a copy, and you will mail or hand deliver two copies to your local PD. They in turn will keep one copy and forward one copy to the State Police. If you plan on carrying the gun you must carry your copy of the RI-60 for thirty days, after that you are not required to have the paperwork with you. Some folks advise that afte 30 days you go to your local PD and ask for confirmation that the gun made it onto the state's registry but this is not required by law.

    Bronson
    I believe there is a time allotment for the police to send it to MSP.
    Today JESUS would tell me to sell my coat and buy two Springfield XD Compact 45acp's!

    NRA LIFER,GOA,MOC Inc.,CLSD,MCRGO,UAW! MOLON LABE!!

  5. #5
    Regular Member sprinklerguy28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    666
    Quote Originally Posted by hamaneggs View Post
    I believe there is a time allotment for the police to send it to MSP.
    You have ten days from the day you purchase with a RI-60, or 10 days from the day you receive your PP(non CPL holders) to turn in your paperwork. The local pd has 48 hours from the time you turn it in to submit it to the MSP.

    The purchaser is only required to maintain their copy on them for 30 days from the date of purchase if they are carrying the gun.
    Last edited by sprinklerguy28; 09-07-2010 at 12:33 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •