Thread: OC at Allegan County Fair?

Regular Member quarter horseman's Avatar

OC at Allegan County Fair?

Does anyone know if you can OC at Allegan co. fair grounds? I may be going this week sometime and would like to OC if I can.
    Last edited by quarter horseman; 09-09-2010 at 07:12 AM.

Thumbs up Yes -- but

If they have a beer tent, you'll need to stay clear of that. I wouldn't plan on visiting the grand stands either. Both of these places are kosher, of course, if you have a CPL.

It is private property ......
    Anything I post may be my opinion and not the law... you are responsible to do your own verification.

Blackstone (1753-1765) maintains that "the law holds that it is better that ten guilty persons escape than that one innocent suffer."

Quote Originally Posted by autosurgeon View Post
    The fairground is private property? That's unusual.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Quote Originally Posted by autosurgeon View Post
    Thanks Q and auto

They would have to have it posted no guns somewhere on the outside of the gates correct? I guess I'll have to do some investigations deeper into it, maybe call today and try to get an answer.

Quote Originally Posted by quarter horseman View Post
    Thanks Q and auto

They would have to have it posted no guns somewhere on the outside of the gates correct? I guess I'll have to do some investigations deeper into it, maybe call today and try to get an answer.
    If it's public property, there's nothing they can do about OC. State law preempts restrictions.

If it's private property, private property rules trump state law.