Thread: non citizen open carry?

non citizen open carry?

I am a very legal resident alien but I am not a citizen. Can I open carry at all? Technically the second amendment etc. does not necessarily apply to me.

IANAL.

In some states like KS, the law on CCW specifies "citizen", so you can't CC there. And this might be true with other states.

But as far as OC, I have not encountered anything that says "citizen" only.

Help, anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by Stogies View Post
    I am a very legal resident alien but I am not a citizen. Can I open carry at all? Technically the second amendment etc. does not necessarily apply to me.
    If you are a permanent resident alien, there is no Federal law barring you from keeping/bearing a firearm. You might want to post in the NC forum for guidance on NC state law.
    cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscripti catapultas habebunt

Quote Originally Posted by CA_fr_KS View Post
    IANAL.

In some states like KS, the law on CCW specifies "citizen", so you can't CC there. And this might be true with other states.

But as far as OC, I have not encountered anything that says "citizen" only.

Help, anyone?
    Actually, since July 1st, kansas can issue to anyone who is lawfully present in the U.S. A non-immigrant or a resident alien.

Regarding NC, anyone who legally owns a gun may open carry.

Non-Citizens and firearms.

Please note in NC there is no state law regarding Open Carry.
    Because there is no licensing, you are only affected by local ordinances the same as everyone else.

Also as a nitpicky side-note:
    The right to bear arms is God-given to ALL MEN regardless of citizenship. The Right is not recognized for non-immigrant and illegal aliens.
    Last edited by simmonsjoe; 09-16-2010 at 08:33 AM.
    illegal ≠ immoral legal ≠ moral