• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Some Psychological Reasons People may oppose OC

TheQ

I work in the IT Industry. I have been a student of IT Security for many years. I have followed many of the writings of Bruce Schneier. Mr. Schneier often points out the things people do to improve security only make them feel more secure, without actually making them more secure. His website and blog can provide many examples of this.

Following that line of thought, let's examine OC. What follows is only thoughts of mine I am putting forth as possible explanations and theories. Please (even if stated as such for the sake of explanation) do not take these items as fact and start flaming me ;)

1. If people see fewer firearms, then less guns must exist, or at least fewer firearms are being carried. If fewer firearms are carried, there is less potential they will be used or used violently. None of this is true, of course, because many guns that are legally and illegally used are carried concealed. BUT the old adage of "out of sight, out of mind" applies here and causes people to feel more secure.