Thread: A few questions on open carry in Nevada.

A few questions on open carry in Nevada.

Hello all. I am a Washington state resident, but most of my family lives in Reno and Sparks and I am going to be spending a lot of time with them soon. My main question is would it be legal for me to open carry with an IWB holster and just the handle of my XD subcompact showing? Or with the bottom of a revolver (Colt Trooper in a low slung leather holster) sticking out below a nice warm jacket? Here in WA it seems that open carry is defined by part of the gun always showing and a person making no attempt to conceal it. I saw something saying that in NV it needs to be completely OWB and visible and I am just trying to plan what holsters to bring and if I should even try to carry if it snows a lot and I need to bundle up. My other options are a 1911 in a paddle holster, a Beretta 92 in shoulder holster (not likely) or a LCP in a little leather I/OWB holster. Any of these are completely OC in summer but I would have to tuck a heavy coat into my pants to legally carry the LCP and stay warm. Any guidance is appreciated and if there are any meets around Reno I hope I could come while I am down there.
    Last edited by cougfan; 10-10-2010 at 02:39 AM.

Activist Member
    (a) “Concealed weapon” means a weapon described in this section that is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.
    A weapon must be discernible by ordinary observation.

Personally, I would carry openly in a belt holster to play it safe, with no garments covering it at all. I wouldn't want to take the risk that someone might disagree with me over what is discernible.

A thigh or drop leg holster would work well for wearing a coat. Personally, I just wear a second shirt that is extra warm and tuck it in.
    Last edited by Felid`Maximus; 10-10-2010 at 02:54 AM.