Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: How old do you have to be to openly carry a handgun in NC?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Fort Bragg North Carolina
    Posts
    2

    How old do you have to be to openly carry a handgun in NC?

    Im an active duty MP at Fort Bragg but im only 19 and i was wondering how old do you have to be to legally open carry a handgun?

  2. #2
    Regular Member sultan62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Clayton, NC
    Posts
    1,331
    Welcome to OCDO.

    The answer to your question is 18 years old. However, you could probably have used the forum search to find your answer. Try to use the search first in the future so you don't ask questions which are easy to answer and have almost certainly been answered before.

    Again, welcome to OCDO.

  3. #3
    Regular Member elixin77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Greenville, NC, ,
    Posts
    591
    18 years old, as long as your not a felon. It has to be open carry though, since you need to be 21 to get a CHP.

    Can't carry whenever an admission is charged, can't carry in a place that sells *and* consumes alcohol, and can't carry in schools and some other places.

    Check the door before you go in, they'll say if you can carry or not (some only say no concealed carry).

    Just FYI - IANAL
    Taurus PT1911 .45 ACP. Carried in condition 1, with a total of 25 rounds.

    Vice President of Students for Concealed Carry on Campus, ECU Chapter

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Fort Bragg North Carolina
    Posts
    2
    I did look in other forums but some people said 18 others said 21 and i even called the Sherriffs dept and they said they think it is 21 to open carry???

  5. #5
    mattwestm
    Guest
    Never call any law enforcement to ask about laws!

  6. #6
    Regular Member smlawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Colfax, NC
    Posts
    261
    Quote Originally Posted by mattwestm View Post
    Never call any law enforcement to ask about laws!
    Yea, cause some of em' will just give you their opinion and not the law!!!
    "God, Guns, & Guts Made America, Lets Use All 3!!!"

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cameron NC, , USA
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by mattwestm View Post
    Never call any law enforcement to ask about laws!
    True story. 18 to OC. 18 to buy from a private party. 21 to concealed carry. 21 to buy from FFL.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by calynn View Post
    True story. 18 to OC. 18 to buy from a private party. 21 to concealed carry. 21 to buy from FFL.
    What he said...that is correct

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    High Point, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    246
    but make sure you leave your middle finger at home

  10. #10
    Regular Member moonie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    High Point NC
    Posts
    230
    According to North Carolina law a pistol purchase permit is required even for sale from a private individual. So while it IS legal to open carry at 18 and while technically legal for me to GIVE a pistol to one of my children they must have a pistol purchase permit for me to do so.

    I have looked into this and the law is quite clear about that. Technically a county sheriff could issue a pistol purchase permit to someone under the age of 21 but over 18 for the purpose of gifting a handgun to my son, as far as I know none will.

    Until he is 21 my Marine Corps son has a pistol on loan to him. 1911, of course.

    I will be happy to cite the laws if required, but it is quite easy to lookup.

    http://www.ncsheriffs.org/images/200...Laws%20Pub.pdf

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cameron NC, , USA
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by moonie View Post
    According to North Carolina law a pistol purchase permit is required even for sale from a private individual. So while it IS legal to open carry at 18 and while technically legal for me to GIVE a pistol to one of my children they must have a pistol purchase permit for me to do so.

    I have looked into this and the law is quite clear about that. Technically a county sheriff could issue a pistol purchase permit to someone under the age of 21 but over 18 for the purpose of gifting a handgun to my son, as far as I know none will.
    If you are temporarily loaning, the loanee does not need a pistol purchase permit, since you aren't giving the pistol, just loaning it. Same as driving someone else's car.

    If you are between 18 and 21 you most certainly can get a pistol purchase permit and buy your own pistol private party. They (your local sheriff's office) cannot deny the permit if one meets the criteria.

    Here's a copy of mine, that I got from the Moore County Sheriff's Office earlier this year, while I was 19:



    and the pistol I bought (from a chief of police at a local municipality) and carry regularly (20 now)


  12. #12
    Regular Member sultan62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Clayton, NC
    Posts
    1,331
    Quote Originally Posted by calynn View Post
    SNIP
    and the pistol I bought (from a chief of police at a local municipality) and carry regularly (20 now)
    calynn, is that the Chief's Special .45?

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by calynn View Post
    If you are temporarily loaning, the loanee does not need a pistol purchase permit, since you aren't giving the pistol, just loaning it. Same as driving someone else's car.

    If you are between 18 and 21 you most certainly can get a pistol purchase permit and buy your own pistol private party. They (your local sheriff's office) cannot deny the permit if one meets the criteria.

    Here's a copy of mine, that I got from the Moore County Sheriff's Office earlier this year, while I was 19:



    and the pistol I bought (from a chief of police at a local municipality) and carry regularly (20 now)



    I see the SD asked for the Serial numbers off the gun you was gonna to buy.

    Did me the same way.

    I was inheriting a handgun (Though I ended up still having to pay for it.)

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cameron NC, , USA
    Posts
    113
    Yep, they wanted the seller's info too... so I wrote it down for them, even though they know all his info :/

    No, it's not the Chief's Special, when he bought this, he wasn't the Chief, but he was my step-dad. Haha, it's a 4006, very heavy, built like a tank.

  15. #15
    Regular Member sultan62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Clayton, NC
    Posts
    1,331
    Quote Originally Posted by calynn View Post
    No, it's not the Chief's Special, when he bought this, he wasn't the Chief, but he was my step-dad. Haha, it's a 4006, very heavy, built like a tank.
    Thanks, appreciate it.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    211
    Here is a copy of my permit I got when I was 19
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HANDGUN PURCHASE PERMIT   FOR OCDO.jpg 
Views:	472 
Size:	76.6 KB 
ID:	4356  

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cameron NC, , USA
    Posts
    113
    Ole Mr. Carter's signature sure was different between our two permits eh?

  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by calynn View Post
    Ole Mr. Carter's signature sure was different between our two permits eh?
    Sure Is LOL.

    WHen you went how long did it take you to get your permit? If you dont mind me asking.
    Last edited by hotrod8812; 10-29-2010 at 07:35 PM.

  19. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cameron NC, , USA
    Posts
    113
    Didn't get an email about your post, but it was pretty short... not even a week (turned in on Friday or Saturday, called back on Tuesday/Wednesday). I see mine was issued before your's. Does that mean I was the first??

  20. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by calynn View Post
    Didn't get an email about your post, but it was pretty short... not even a week (turned in on Friday or Saturday, called back on Tuesday/Wednesday). I see mine was issued before your's. Does that mean I was the first??
    I dont know, I went in February the 26 2010 too ask about getting a permit Mr carter said he would have to check into and see in what situations permits could be issued to persons under 21 told me too call back in a few days.
    I called like 5days later they said my permit would be ready in 7 to 10 days (If I remember correctly)If everything checked out OK on my back ground check.

    I didnt get in to pick up my permit till march Because I was in SC working.
    Last edited by hotrod8812; 11-04-2010 at 01:33 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •