Thread: Maybe (some of the) Madison PD is starting to get it

Maybe (some of the) Madison PD is starting to get it

Yesterday my wife met a friend of her for lunch in one of the Rocky Rococo's in Madison.

When she parked she noticed two unmarked squad cars in the parking lot. She went in and sat down to wait for her friend. While she was waiting she noticed two plain clothes officers sitting at the table next to her.

When one of them got up to refill his soda he noticed she was looking at his sidearm and said, "Don't worry Ma'am, I'm a police officer."

She replied with, "Oh, I'm not worried, I was just wondering what you were carrying. I know Open Carry is legal."

He said, "That's right, it is."

I asked if he had a negative tone or anything when he said it, but she said he didn't.

She was more disturbed that he called her "Ma'am" since she's only 30.

Anyway, not that I'd expect an officer would confront a very obviously pregnant woman about it when she isn't carrying, but it seemed like a good interaction from what she described, just the same.

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Yesterday my wife met a friend of her for lunch in one of the Rocky Rococo's in Madison.

When she parked she noticed two unmarked squad cars in the parking lot. She went in and sat down to wait for her friend. While she was waiting she noticed two plain clothes officers sitting at the table next to her.

When one of them got up to refill his soda he noticed she was looking at his sidearm and said, "Don't worry Ma'am, I'm a police officer."

She replied with, "Oh, I'm not worried, I was just wondering what you were carrying. I know Open Carry is legal."

He said, "That's right, it is."

I asked if he had a negative tone or anything when he said it, but she said he didn't.

She was more disturbed that he called her "Ma'am" since she's only 30.