Thread: (Off Topic) Adventures in Political Activism

(Off Topic) Adventures in Political Activism

I am a student at College of Southern Nevada, enrolled in classes at both Cayenne and Charleston Campuses. Yesterday October 21st, after my English Class Adjourned for the day, and while exiting the building through the main entrance, I was asked by what appeared to be a signature gathering group if i was a registered voter, I replied with a simple "yes, why?" A young woman informed me, in her exact words, "we're gathering signatures to help bring an NBA team to Las Vegas." Intrigued, and a bit curious as i already knew this was a blatant misrepresentation of what the initiative they were gathering signatures actually was I wanted to look closer. I asked if i could read the initiative as written on the signature sheet. She handed me the clipboard and i started reading. Low and behold it was the initiative to enact a 0.9% sales tax to fund the development of an arena complex between Koval and Paradise and between spring mountain and Flamingo. I then said exactly the following, " I'm sorry i can't sign this I don't agree with it."