Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Forum going offline?

  1. #1
    Regular Member sultan62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Clayton, NC
    Posts
    1,319

    Forum going offline?

    Has the forum been going offline as of late, or is it just something funky going on on my end?

    I've had OCDO fail to open numerous times recently with no problems with other websites, including non-forum opencarry.org.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Tomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    University Place, Washington, USA
    Posts
    705
    Just adding a data point: I've seen no problems here in western Washington (state).
    No tyranny is so irksome as petty tyranny: The officious demands of policemen, government clerks, and electromechanical gadgets. -- Edward Abbey

    • • • Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? Faciémus!• • •

  3. #3
    Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Chesterfield, Va.
    Posts
    34,623
    Quote Originally Posted by sultan62 View Post
    Has the forum been going offline as of late, or is it just something funky going on on my end?

    I've had OCDO fail to open numerous times recently with no problems with other websites, including non-forum opencarry.org.
    If it is a failure to load/timed out, it is most likely on your end. OCDO forum is a heavy package.

    You might try clearing your temporary files and defragging.

    My gf's computer which is older (less memory) and slower will hiccup occasionally when loading OCDO or her home page ( a BIG news site). Mine, a quad with mega ram, never misses a beat.
    You will not rise to the occasion; you will fall back on your level of training.” Archilochus, 650 BC

    Old and treacherous will beat young and skilled every time. Yata hey.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    771
    there has been several times over last couple of days where I would come to the forums and all the the thread info would be crammed into a 2 inch column on the left side rather than spaced correctly across the screen.

  5. #5
    Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Chesterfield, Va.
    Posts
    34,623
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjam2jab View Post
    there has been several times over last couple of days where I would come to the forums and all the the thread info would be crammed into a 2 inch column on the left side rather than spaced correctly across the screen.
    That happens when you are at the top of a new thread with the Google ad in the top right.

    There is nothing wrong with the program/download. It is how John & Mike pay for the site.
    You will not rise to the occasion; you will fall back on your level of training.” Archilochus, 650 BC

    Old and treacherous will beat young and skilled every time. Yata hey.

  6. #6
    Regular Member sultan62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Clayton, NC
    Posts
    1,319
    I've got a decent comp, and don't keep temp files.

    Also, it is an instant error, though I don't remember which.

    It is apparently on my end, but it's very odd since I haven't had any problems in the past with the same computer on the same network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •