Thread: OC in the winter

OC in the winter

I am pretty new to OC and now that winter is coming up im getting worried. I'd like to carry but my coat covers up my holster for my Beretta 92fs which I normally carry. I noticed on my holster for my S&W 19-5 6" barrel that a good 4-5 inches of the holster drop below my coatline but the handle is concealed. Is this still legal for open carry in Michigan? I am 20 years old currently so concealed carry is out of the question until next year but both handguns are legally mine.

Banned
    Welcome

Do not cover any part of the gun at any time for any length of time. Get a leg drop holster. I carry that way, with a permit, and don't have any intentions of going back to the belt line any time soon.

How about a M3/M7 tanker type chest holster? I was just having the same question.

i would wear it higher and more center chest.

Banned
    sure, just don't cover it.

wear it outside of a jacket.
    not a lawyer, dont take anything i say as legal advice.

+1 for drop leg/thigh rig. Especially with a Beretta 92FS. Any military holster will work well for you.
    All opinions posted on opencarry.org are my own, and do not necessarily reflect the views of opencarry.org or Michigan Open Carry Inc.

Regular Member quarter horseman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by blackhawk9013 View Post
    I am pretty new to OC and now that winter is coming up im getting worried. I'd like to carry but my coat covers up my holster for my Beretta 92fs which I normally carry. I noticed on my holster for my S&W 19-5 6" barrel that a good 4-5 inches of the holster drop below my coatline but the handle is concealed. Is this still legal for open carry in Michigan? I am 20 years old currently so concealed carry is out of the question until next year but both handguns are legally mine.
    Welcome to OC! blackhawk! carry on!