Thread: Open Carry Culture

Open Carry Culture

Howdy ya'lll, I'm an Arizona boy where open carry is mostly speaking never a problem. I'm a college student at the U of A and am looking for a city to work in as a police officer as I am a Poly Sci major. I was just curious as to what the culture was pertaining to open carry around Colorado as I have truly enjoyed all the time I have spent in you're beautiful state.
    Thanks folks, God bless,

Arizonarugger

scubabeme
    In general, pretty good. Some places are a little friendlier than others. The one MAJOR exception is the City and County of Denver where you would be arrested for open carry due to a "non-decision" on preemption by the courts. I'm sure others will chime in with more detail, but suffice to say that open carry isn't much of an issue here, it's not REAL common, but neither is it unheard of.

Hope you make it to at least visit our fair state. (I'm a CO native, but spent a few years in Tucson, and about one in Phoenix during my USAF career so I have a soft spot in my heart for AZ, too)

With the noted exception of Denver County, OC is well accepted in CO. Particularly true in El Paso County, Colorado Springs area. This is gun country where the Sheriff sends you a personal letter of congratulations--and thanks! when you get your CCW. A cop around here may ask you 'what' you're carrying, not 'why.'

Quote Originally Posted by Gunslinger View Post
    With the noted exception of Denver County, OC is well accepted in CO. Particularly true in El Paso County, Colorado Springs area. This is gun country where the Sheriff sends you a personal letter of congratulations--and thanks! when you get your CCW. A cop around here may ask you 'what' you're carrying, not 'why.'
    I do have to ask why Colorado Springs bans OC in government buildings.

Quote Originally Posted by Kingfish View Post
    I do have to ask why Colorado Springs bans OC in government buildings.