Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: Captcha

  1. #1
    Regular Member t33j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    King George, VA
    Posts
    1,384

    Captcha

    Wow really? How incredibly obnoxious...

    For posts from unregistered users I might understand but you have to be registered to post here.

    What's the deal?
    Sic Semper Tyrannis

  2. #2
    Campaign Veteran skidmark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Chesterfield VA
    Posts
    10,682
    Would you like to be more specific?

    Where/how did you run into it? What were you doing?

    Why have you not contacted Mike or John to inquire what was going on, instead of posting some post with just enough information to be totally useless?

    stay safe.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fairborn, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    13,063
    I take it that means that you do not have to use captcha to post? A lot of us do.

  4. #4
    Campaign Veteran skidmark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Chesterfield VA
    Posts
    10,682
    Eye,

    Did not know some of you were not as equal. [tongue in cheek, folks! I'm probably the last one to claim, or want to claim, to be more equal.]

    Since it does not effect me, I'm not gonna inquire. If any of you lesser entities wants to get upgraded I guess a note to the powers that be is in order.

    stay safe.

  5. #5
    Regular Member t33j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    King George, VA
    Posts
    1,384
    I didn't have to deal with a captcha until either today or yesterday.

    I was responding to the Open Carry in Hampton Roads thread when I noticed it tonight. I also had to do one in order to create this thread.

    Correction: I was attempting to respond to the Open Carry in Hampton Roads thread.
    Last edited by t33j; 12-20-2010 at 06:37 PM.
    Sic Semper Tyrannis

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fairborn, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    13,063
    It just started affecting me this afternoon.

    Geez, I wonder why so few folks are posting right now?

  7. #7
    Regular Member t33j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    King George, VA
    Posts
    1,384
    Quote Originally Posted by eye95 View Post
    Geez, I wonder why so few folks are posting right now?
    I was so peeved about it I almost didn't post this thread.
    Sic Semper Tyrannis

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    343
    What's the big deal? Type in some letters and go about your business!!

    Some REALLY thin skins around here!! lol

  9. #9
    Regular Member Kloutier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spanish Fork Utah, Utah, USA
    Posts
    193
    Not a fan of it either. I hope they can consider other means to protect the form

  10. #10
    Regular Member paul@paul-fisher.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    4,047
    Ok, has anyone reported it to John? It's possible it is only a side effect of an upgrade.

    It just started this afternoon.

  11. #11
    Regular Member Kloutier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spanish Fork Utah, Utah, USA
    Posts
    193

    pribli listening

    I am sure they know and added it. Would stop a spam and I remember that seemed to be an issue in the past.

  12. #12
    Administrator John Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, VA
    Posts
    1,735
    I added that because we were having problems with registered users (possibly with a grudge against the forum) doing repeated searches to slow down / bring down the database.


    John


    Quote Originally Posted by t33j View Post
    Wow really? How incredibly obnoxious...

    For posts from unregistered users I might understand but you have to be registered to post here.

    What's the deal?

  13. #13
    Regular Member Kloutier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spanish Fork Utah, Utah, USA
    Posts
    193

    Dershel wave

    Could you not just set a limit on the search function? Searches blocks and such. A ton of other forms I use have a comment like "You have done to many searches please try again later" or something like that. Also does the Captcha have to be both on the search and the posting?

  14. #14
    Accomplished Advocate peter nap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    13,580
    I guess John wanted to keep everyone's mind off of the database constantly crashing.
    The upgrade was a big improvement!

  15. #15
    Regular Member HeroHog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Shreveport, LA
    Posts
    653
    They aren't a big deal. So I had to type in "commanded dicychs" to reply... I may never recover! Who do I sue? I had my recorder on and caught the whole thing...
    Speedy: LOCAL League Sec/Treasurer, Information Officer
    AKA: Hero Hog, Dr. Speed, "The Brass Mangler" and "That fat, old, balding, Grey-bearded gimpy guy"

    I don't have NEAR enough ammo on hand. `nuff said.

    NRA Life Member, LSA, USN-DAV

    "Stay safe..." - Paul "Skidmark" Henick, RIP

  16. #16
    Regular Member t33j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    King George, VA
    Posts
    1,384
    John,

    Completely understandable. I know a time between search limit can be implemented, and don't see why the captcha couldn't just be applied to searching instead of posting.


    Quote Originally Posted by Kloutier View Post
    Could you not just set a limit on the search function? Searches blocks and such. A ton of other forms I use have a comment like "You have done to many searches please try again later" or something like that. Also does the Captcha have to be both on the search and the posting?
    +1
    Last edited by t33j; 12-20-2010 at 07:27 PM.
    Sic Semper Tyrannis

  17. #17
    Regular Member Kloutier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spanish Fork Utah, Utah, USA
    Posts
    193

    cerci Tranback

    I guess it did not help the database crashed again

  18. #18
    Administrator John Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, VA
    Posts
    1,735
    Ouch! I didn't realize the captcha was for posting as well. I have fixed that. Let me know if it worked.


    John

    Quote Originally Posted by t33j View Post
    John,

    Completely understandable. I know a time between search limit can be implemented, and don't see why the captcha couldn't just be applied to searching instead of posting.



    +1

  19. #19
    Regular Member Kloutier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spanish Fork Utah, Utah, USA
    Posts
    193
    Thank you very much!

  20. #20
    Administrator John Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, VA
    Posts
    1,735
    Glad to help! Now if I can just figure out why the database goes nuts every few hours.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kloutier View Post
    Thank you very much!

  21. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    581
    Quote Originally Posted by Administrator View Post
    Glad to help! Now if I can just figure out why the database goes nuts every few hours.
    I would blame Eye95. He uses too much reason and is too rational.



  22. #22
    Regular Member Kloutier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spanish Fork Utah, Utah, USA
    Posts
    193
    Eye95.... YOU MONSTER!

  23. #23
    Regular Member Tomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    University Place, Washington, USA
    Posts
    705
    First time I ran into needing to fill out a CAPCHA pane to post a reply was this evening at 1719 PST. It really is a PITA.

    Haven't run into it since, so very possibly I got in just before John's removal of that requirement took effect.

    (On my forums I generally set a 30 second or 60 second enforced time between searches.)

    BTW, when I made my CAPCHA required reply, not only did it require a CAPCHA, the quote, which should have been just of a single post, was a half dozen posts or so that I had to edit out...

    Weird.
    No tyranny is so irksome as petty tyranny: The officious demands of policemen, government clerks, and electromechanical gadgets. -- Edward Abbey

    • • • Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? Faciémus!• • •

  24. #24
    Regular Member sudden valley gunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Whatcom County
    Posts
    17,338
    Quote Originally Posted by palerider116 View Post
    I would blame Eye95. He uses too much reason and is too rational.


    Ha now that made me laugh!!!!!!
    I am not anti Cop I am just pro Citizen.

    U.S. v. Minker, 350 US 179, at page 187
    "Because of what appears to be a lawful command on the surface, many citizens, because
    of their respect for what only appears to be a law, are cunningly coerced into waiving their
    rights, due to ignorance." (Paraphrased)

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fairborn, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    13,063
    Quote Originally Posted by Administrator View Post
    Ouch! I didn't realize the captcha was for posting as well. I have fixed that. Let me know if it worked.


    John
    Thanks, I was wondering if you had really meant to do that. It's OK. You're busy. Especially if malicious folks are trying to damage the site.

    Thanks for all you do.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •