Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: stupid question - What is the age one can Open Carry in Virginia?

stupid question - What is the age one can Open Carry in Virginia?

I am new to open carry. and am just getting into it. i wa wondering what the age was?

+1

There are no laws in the Virginia Code that deal with open carry. 18 is the minimum age required to possess a handgun in Virginia although as far as I can tell, there is no minimum for ownership. (Why should there be?) I only mention it to bring attention to the difference between possession and ownership.

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp...cod+18.2-308.7

Welcome to OCDO.
    Last edited by t33j; 01-17-2011 at 01:22 AM.
    Sic Semper Tyrannis

Welcome to OCDO, garfield6399.

Why did you think this was a stupid question?

Accomplished Advocate peter nap's Avatar
    There are no stupid questions......well....yeah there are....but this isn't one

Welcome to the forum!
    Last edited by peter nap; 01-17-2011 at 04:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by peter nap View Post
    There are no stupid questions......well....yeah there are....but this isn't one
    Ah, yes, never forget this famous quote by Dilbert author Scott Adams!

"If there are no stupid questions, then what kind of questions do stupid people ask? Do they get smart just in time to ask questions?"
    -- Scott Adams

TFred

I used to be stupid, but after asking a lot of stupid questions, I finally got smart and have stayed that way ever since.

And yes, you can OC at the tender age of 18. Welcome to OCDO!

Quote Originally Posted by 2a4all View Post
    Welcome to OCDO, garfield6399.

Why did you think this was a stupid question?
    ive done research that says it is 18. but ive asked cops who say its 21. and it was mostly to catch peoples eye and look

documentation